[review] Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Tessa Gray doesn’t know who she is. What she does know is that her new home is in danger because there’s a genius psycho who wants to marry her and steal her powers for reasons that are, you guessed it, unknown. Oh, and she has very confusing feelings about two very attractive boys, but surely with all Tessa’s personal conflict that will have to take a back burner, right? Tessa, Will, and Jem’s story continues on a story that will make every fangirl’s heart pound and shatter over and over again.

time to read about 3 days of on and off reading. It’s a pretty long book, but if you have the time to devote to it it’s an easy and fast read, especially once the romance kicks in.

I may not be a fan of Cassandra Clare’s heroines, but my goodness does she know how to write swoon-worthy male characters with flaws that make them even more attractive. Will who loves literature and has a quick and sharp wit but the absolute heart of gold. And Jem! Sweet Jem who isn’t always so sweet and who is dying which isn’t fair at all! Clare knows how to pull at the heart strings and while I’m reading I can feel myself falling in love with these all too imaginary characters. Because they are completely imaginary and that’s the sad part. No real person could possibly be like either of them, but sometimes it’s nice to ignore that in a romantic hero.

Then there is the setting. I really enjoy the whole Shadowhunter thing to be quite honest. I find the runes fascinating. I’m not a big fan of the whole angel/church/religious aspect of it, not because it’s religion, just because it’s a teensy bit overdone in YA lit, but I can see pass that easily enough. And any time a story is set in London I’m all for it. It’s not a Maureen Johnson or Stephanie Perkins book where the setting becomes another character to the story, but Clare has her moments of descriptive glory.

As for the plot…well…I suppose it could be worse. At least there are things that happen, right? Things happening is good. It felt a teensy bit circular and unnecessary, but most second books are, I suppose. That’s alright though. I honestly don’t read Clare’s books for the plot: she is a romance writer and anyone going into it expecting more will likely be disappointed.

Novels with similar aspects

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

recommended to those searching for some steamy moments to make your heart pound faster, or you know any Cassandra Clare fan out there since I know you’re all out there.

not recommended to those looking for a strong, complex heroine or a plot driven story.

Already read Clockwork Prince (or any of my reviewed books)? Link me to your review and I’ll quote and link you in this post.

I’m not planning on making a discussion post for this book, but if you have any spoiler-filled thoughts that you want to discuss, let me know and I’ll make a post for you. :)

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to [review] Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

  1. Chris says:

    I just finished this one as well. I like this series a lot more than the City of Glass. There’s less angsty father figures and incestuous weirdness. Also less violence, tho there’s still plenty in this one. There are fewer characters, and that leaves more room for the romance! I liked the unexpected arrival at the end, and am sad we have to wait for 2013 for the next (last?) book.

    I didn’t feel the church was that big of a presence. Maybe I missed something. The institute is on the site of a church, and they went by the church in York. I focused more on the pendant being clockwork than being an angel. Do you think it’s her guardian angel in a religious sense? I was thinking of it with a more mundane angle. I like Tessa’s power and want to find out what the York man knows. I like that they take down the Shadowhunters for being egoistic snobs. Like you say, a fun, fast read.

    • megtao says:

      The church is just a huge aspect of the Shadowhunter culture. Like Jem says, they basically memorize the scriptures because it’s their handbook. It’s not that it’s a religious thing, it’s that it’s a religion~ thing. Shadowhunters are the children of angels and all the angel books have been disappointing for me, especially female character-wise, so my bias is showing, I suppose XD

      I have no thoughts on the clockwork angel. I’m sure we’ll find out by book three though.

      • Chris says:

        Took me awhile, but I finally realized what you meant after I posted. I guess the angel part of the shadowhunter life just seemed like backstory in this book, and not very related to religion. There were a lot more quotes from literature than from the Bible. I’ve been avoiding those other books where the hero is an angel and have been reading books that followed the Bible closely or had very direct Bible references (Children of Paranoia, Apothecary) so the ones here seemed inconsequential. Anyway, on to the next book.

  2. Candice says:

    I really want to start this series soon! Also, why do all the characters on her books have to be so smoldering hot?! Not that I’m complaining! :)

  3. megtao says:

    I know right! *fans self* I don’t even care about anything else in the book, just give me some more Jem and Will!

  4. Just got this one in the mail a few days ago! I read Clockwork Angel a couple months ago and really enjoyed it. It was my first Cassandra Clare, although I just bought City of Bones and City of Ashes since they were like 2.99 each and plan on reading those…sometime.

    Summary: I want to read it! And get more Will and Jem!

  5. I AM SO ON THE FENCE WITH THIS.

    Mainly because I love me some strong complex heroines, but on the other hand, the first book, Clockwork Angel was a total guilty pleasure for me. Also, I really like Jem! Seriously, I wanted him to win out over Will. But, I digress.

    Seems like there’s a whole lot going on in Clockwork Prince, but overall, I’m going to save this one for the beach.

    • megtao says:

      This is exactly my feelings towards it (JEM JEM JEM JEM JEM). I feel like nowadays most books are more of a guilty pleasure for me. Strong, complex heroines are so rare.

Leave a Reply

