[discussion-review] Beauty and the Beast 3D

There will be spoilers in this post. If you haven’t seen Beauty and the Beast by now, what are you doing with your life?

As a kid, Beauty and the Beast was my favourite movie. I watched it several times a day while my mom was pregnant with my brother. My room was Beauty and the Beast themed. I have sneaking suspicion that my love of reading stems from wanting to be more like Belle. Belle is still my favourite princess.

But it’d been quite a while since I’d last seen B&B, so when I heard that Disney was releasing it in theatres in 3D for a short time I was ALL OVER IT. I convinced my mom to go with me, and we were the oldest group in the theatre even though it was a 7PM show on  a school night… And okay, I may have gotten a little teary eyed at the fact that a new generation of kids were going to fall in love with my childhood movie. Shut up.

I went in with the expectation that I would spend the movie giggling over the cute romance of Belle/Beast because…because that’s how I am. But I was surprised when I began focusing on other things. For example, I found myself much more interested in the enchanted inhabitants of the castle.

These characters are amazing! They continue to be cheerful despite being curses for something that isn’t their fault and being worse off than the one who is at fault. At least the Beast can still reach things and doesn’t have to worry about being smashed to bits. When Beast told Belle she could leave, I didn’t see it as him being selfless by letting the woman he loves leave; I saw it as selfishness because he put her before the good of the people who had cared for him for years.

Not only that, but I actually found myself feeling bad for Gaston!

I know what you’re thinking: why in the world would you feel bad for that. But I couldn’t help but wonder how much of this is Gaston’s fault. Is he really a bad person or was he raised to do bad things? He lives in a town where people encourage him to act like an ass. They basically worship him. Okay, yes, he’s vain and conceited, but is that something that is punishable by death? Everything he does is out of a misguided attempt to win Belle. I’m not saying he went about it the right way, but no one taught him otherwise. Beast had a household of servants teaching him to control his temper and vanity. If Gaston had been given the same opportunity I feel like he easily could have just as easily been the hero of this story, but I guess only princes get the chance at redemption.

Oh yeah, and the fact that it was in 3D was pretty cool. It didn’t really change anything for me, which I guess is a good thing. I hate it when shots are specifically added to make the 3D obvious.

Um…imagine there was a segue here…

Whether it’s in theatres or at home, I recommend watching Beauty and the Beast. It’s not only a tale as old as time, but a tale for the ages.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [discussion-review] Beauty and the Beast 3D

  1. I absolutely LOVED watching Beauty and the Beast in the theater! It brought back a lot of childhood memories for me. Like you, Belle was (and still is) my favorite princess. I’m pretty sure I picked up my love of books, dreaminess and perpetual wanderlust from her.

  2. I can’t wait to go see this in theaters. It’s one of my all time favorite movies. It’s also, one of my all time favorite musicals. Beauty and the Beast on Broadway is easily my most listened to cast recording I own. <3

    • megtao says:

      I’m going to see that! I saw it when I was little, but all i remember is the enchantress appearing. I’m really looking forward to seeing it again!

  3. Haha I adored this movie too and also went to see the 3D version with my mom. And I know exactly what you mean! There are so many different things that you focus on in the movie when you have an adult perspective! But I still absolutely loved it.

  4. Samantha says:

    I’m really hoping this comes out here in 3D soon. I can’t wait to see it.

    I’m pretty sure if I lived in a Disney movie I would be Belle. Every so often, epsecially when I start to get the travel itch again, the line “I want adventure in the great, wide somewhere, I want it more than I can tell…” pops into my head. :D

  5. My intense jealousy over you going to see it in the theatre tells me that I should probably do the same :)

Leave a Reply

