[review] The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Puck Connolly’s life isn’t easy. Her parents were both killed by water horses, ferocious and beautiful creatures that can only be found around the island where Puck lives, but at least she still has her two brothers. Right?

Sean Kendrick has also had his share of hardships. Orphaned as well, he works with the water horses. As Scorpio Race champion, he is ready to win again and maybe if he does he’ll finally be able to buy the only thing he’s ever wanted.

This book has a very, very slow start. Based on the back of the book and the title, you’d assume that the book would be all about, well, the race, but it isn’t. Not really. The race takes up only a handful of pages of the over four hundred page book. The rest is build up and character development, which is fine, but it would have been nice to know going into the book.

That complaint aside, this book is the definition of beautiful.

The description is real and fits with the setting. The voices of the characters are strong and original. And the ending…oh goodness the ending. It made me FEEL. It left me wanting so much more, but also left me feeling a great sense of conclusion. It was bittersweet in the same way Mockingjay almost was. Except better.

Then, there’s Sean Kendrick. Sean totally stole my heart and there is one scene, I won’t tell you which, that had my heart pounding like the time the boys’ swim team decided to jog around the volley-ball court I was playing on. In speedos. Which brings me to my new section I’m thinking about including in my reviews:

Dear Sean Kendrick,

Your quiet presence is hypnotising. You kind of remind me of Mr. Darcy except we actually get to hear how you feel. I like that.

I want to go horseback riding with you. Bare back, if you know what I mean.

Love,

Coffee & Wizards

Besides Sean, Puck is kind of amazing. As the first girl to enter into the Scorpio Races she has to deal with mega sexism, but she totally stands her ground. Her strength of character brought tears to my eyes. Puck is the kind of girl you want as your best friend. Even if I don’t really agree with her original reasons for entering the Scorpio Races, I totally respect her as a character.

recommended for fans of Irish mythology and great stories, description, and characters

not recommended for those who need lots of action RIGHT AWAY or can’t handle death/gore of humans and/or animals

Already read and reviewed The Last Days (or any of the books I’ve reviewed)? Comment with the link and I’ll quote and link you at the bottom of my review!
No discussion post planned for this one. If you have some spoiler-filled comments and would like a discussion post, let me know and I’ll make a post just for you. :)

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to [review] The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Allison (Allure of Books) says:

    “bareback, if you know what I mean.”

    I will now be laughing for the rest of my life. HA! That was great. (And that was one of my favorite scenes in the book as well.)

  2. Bahaha!!! You’re fantastic!! I love your letters to crushes. They MUST continue because they’re hilarious and wonderful.
    But I LOVED LOVED LOVED The Scorpio Races so much. I agree that the book is less about the races than you might think from the description, but I still loved it. Sean and Puck are two of my favorites, and I was so happy that we got to know them as individuals before we got to know them as a couple.
    I’m soooooo glad that April shouted you out because you’re awesome. Super review! :-)

    • megtao says:

      I was so happy that we got to know them as individuals before we got to know them as a couple.

      YES THIS.

      That almost never happens in YA and it was so wonderful because I didn’t feel like their sole existence was each other.

  3. Oh dear God, the bare back joke make me spit out my coffee – I love you!

    I just looked at this book the other day, and was contemplating it. I’ll have to move it
    Higher up on the TBR pile!

  4. Candice says:

    If you feature a letter to your lit crushes in your reviews I seriously will love the heck out of you and your blog even more than I already do! Your letter to Sean has been the highlight of my day. And now I want to read Scorpio Races even more thanks to your barebacked comment… haha!

  5. I am definitely a character girl, but it’s good to know to expect a slow start to this one. I’ve always been in love with Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style, though her books have been kind of hit or miss for me. Some, like Lament, I really enjoyed, but others, like the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, were kind of only so-so for me. Anyways, I have a copy of The Scorpio Races on my shelf, so I’ll definitely be reading it at some point.

    Oh, and the swim team jogging around in SPEEDOS?!?!? I want to go to your school. :) Lol.

    New follower!

    • megtao says:

      This is the first book of hers I’ve read. Pretty sure her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy is on my to read list… Maybe I’ll check out Lament first.

      This was when I was playing an away game, so it wasn’t my school. Apparently this was a common occurrence to try and throw off the visiting team. Glad to say it didn’t work! /nostalgia

      Welcome to my blog! Hope you’ll enjoy your time here :)

  6. Heidi says:

    Yes! I loved that even after reading tons of reviews, this book was still unexpected for me and took be by surprise. And Sean? Yeah…pretty much. I lurv Celtic Mythology (because sekies and kelpies pretty much kick mermaid ass), so this book was a total win.

    Adore the letters to your literary crushes, keep ‘em up!

    • megtao says:

      I hadn’t heard much about this book except that it was amazing and there was mythology, but I don’t think anyone could have prepared me for that ending. I love Celtic Mythology as well. Any time you get Fae involved I’m happy.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  7. I’m a very patient reader, so bring on the slow start.

    ALSO I LOVE QUIET CHARACTERS FOREVER AND EVER. As a kind of loud person, I like reading about people who are different from me.

    And celtic mythology is the freakin’ deal, it is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

