[review] The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Already read it? Check out the discussion here.

Sixteen year old Hazel Grace has been living with cancer and all its consequences for four long years. She likes to watch America’s Next Top model reruns and to reread An Imperial Affliction whose author seems to be the only one who understands her.

And then she meets Augustus Waters.

This. Book. As a nerdfighter, I was incredibly excited for this book. I may or may not have jumped around and squealed when my preorder arrived in the mail. I had to hold off from reading it because of school, but finally I gave in and DEVOURED it. I laughed. I cried. And then I laughed-cried, which I didn’t even know was possible. I had been told I would feel all the feelings, but I thought there was some kind of exaggeration involved.

There wasn’t.

It was the first time that John wrote from a female perspective, and I think he did a pretty good job. There were times that I felt that Hazel Grace was a bit too stereotypically girly (V for Vendetta is a boy movie? Really?) and other times that I felt she was only a voice box for John (in fact, if I was to critique anything it was that there were times when it was too obviously John’s words coming from the character’s mouths…but maybe that’s because I’ve spent too many hours watching vlogbrothers’ videos), but overall she was an amazing character.

I also loved the secondary characters, like Hazel’s family and Isaac. Other secondary characters felt kind of underused, like Kaitlyn. I didn’t really understand why she existed at all, except, I guess, to show that Hazel had once had another life and that cancer had distanced her from that.

The character that really captured my heart, however, was Augustus Waters. Oh Augustus Waters…

Dear Augustus Waters,

You are the most attractive man-boy I have ever had the fortune to read about. I want you to know that I understand. If I could figure out how to use the controllers, I’d jump on the grenade to give those kids a chance to escape too, even if it meant losing the game.

If you ever want to inch your way a little further out of that venn diagram thing just give me a call.

XOXO

Meghan

P.S. Okay?

Books with similar aspects

I’m drawing an absolute blank guys. This never happens.

recommended to those who want to feel all the feelings

not recommended to those who would prefer not to feel

Please, no spoilers in the comments. Thank you for respecting your fellow readers!
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [review] The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  1. I cannot wait to dive into this book! I’ve been saving it for a special occasion and for when I actually have time to read it properly. But great review! I can’t wait to experience it for myself.

  2. Candice says:

    Eeep! I want to feel all the feelings! Haha. I’ve heard about this book over and over and over again but honestly couldn’t tell you what it’s about. And that I want to read it. Sigh… why must there be so many books? I’m a little overwhelmed by them all! :)

  3. April C says:

    Oh, I love this! I love your love for TFioS! Oh my god, Augustus Waters, I loved him. LOVED.

    AND YES FEELING ALL OF THE THINGS. I loved it.

    Hah, TFioS kind of makes me speak/type incoherently.

  4. This book’s recommendation and Cinder’s are my favorites!

Leave a Reply

