[review] Lost in Austen

Amanda Price live an ordinary life with an ordinary job and an ordinary boyfriend. To escape, she reads her favourite book: Pride and Prejudice. To her the characters are more than just characters; they’re like real people. Then she finds Elizabeth Bennet in her bathtub.

In Friday’s post I mentioned that I would like to trade lives with Amanda Price, the protagonist of Lost in Austen, and after watching it you will want to as well!

For fans of Pride and Prejudice this is a MUST WATCH. There are tons of throwbacks to the original novel, and the twists will keep you on the edge of your seat. Not only do you get to see your favourite characters, but you get to see them in a new light: Mr Bennet has a first name, Wickham has another side, and just wait until you learn Miss Bingley’s secret!

Did I mention there’s attractive British men in period costume? Cause…there’s those as well. You know, if you’re into that kind of thing… *is into that kind of thing*

You can watch it on Netflix and I watched it several years ago on Youtube so chances are it’s still on there as well. I totally recommend it if for no other reason than the Wickham arc. Seriously, Wickham has been duelling Darcy for my P&P heart ever since I watched this.

 

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to [review] Lost in Austen

  1. SailorEm says:

    Ever since watching Lost in Austen when I first got it for a birthday or Christmas some years ago (2? 3? Two I think), I’ve gone back to the original book and/or film adaptations with LiA in mind, meaning I’m always waiting for Mr Bennet to be called something other than Mr Bennet, or Wickham to even have a hint of slight redemption (I agree, he is totally the best part! Followed by Miss Bingley hahahaha never saw that one coming!) or SOMETHING that could support LiA enough for me to wish it was almost considered the real or ‘untold’ version! Arg, it’s just so good!

  2. Samantha says:

    I absolutely love Lost in Austen. :D And yes, it totally made me love Wickham too! (Though I kind of already loved him, especially after watching Pride and Prejudice: A Latter-Day Comedy. It’s a modern day movie adaptation. Also, the Darcy in that is also British and hot. :D)

    I have it on DVD. I should get it out and watch it again.

  3. Samantha says:

    What?! How have you not watched Colin Firth as Darcy? YOU NEED TO FIX THIS MEG! It only takes five hours to watch. ;)

  4. vevadoll says:

    Ah yes, I love this movie, I watched it because I love the actress that plays the main character, she was in a spooky Brit show I used to watch on BBC, and I love Austen. So I am going to watch it again after reading this, I forgot how great it was. Glad for your review!

  5. Oooo, Lost In Austen sounds good and exactly like a sort of pizza and beer type of movie on a crappy weather day. I’ll have to add it to my netflix queue.

  6. Heidi says:

    I’ve had this in my Netflix queue for way too long now without having watched it! I keep waiting for just the right mood, because I know I’m going to love it when I get there.

  7. I just Instant Queued it. Woot! :)

Leave a Reply

