[review] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days, and she wants to make sure it stays that way until the day she dies. She knows it can’t be long: either the world will finish collapsing or whoever is holding her in the mental institution will kill her. She expects it. What she wasn’t expecting was for a handsome boy with all to familiar eyes to join her in her cell.

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

I love this book so much I hardly know where to start!

The writing is fresh and full of feeling. Mafi has a way with words that leaves me swooning with envy. I would love to know if Mafi knows another language because her style of writing reminds me of something my linguistics professor said about bilingual writers using  sort of direct translations of other languages as a way of saying something in a kind of poetic/different way. I especially like her choice of verbs. That’s probably an odd thing to say, but it’s true.

I listened to the audiobook, which was a little over nine hour and narrated by Kate Simses. Simses was the PERFECT Juliette. The emotion she put into her voice was amazing. She could go from fragility to raw power in a couple of words and it was just so perfect. I’m not sure if I would have as much respect and a connection to Juliette without getting to hear the emotion in Simses’ voice. Even her male characters were pretty good. There was one or two that would sound really close to another male character, but for the most part the range was broad enough that I could tell who was talking, and she definitely brought the characters to life.

In comparison to the writing and the characterization, the plot takes a bit of a back burner. It was solid and nicely paced and interesting, but it didn’t wow me as much as the characters or the writing style.

Of course, I have to mention the other two corners of the love triangle: Adam and Warner. Adam is everything that I want in a guy. He is sweet and strong and loyal and he knows exactly what to say to make my stomach wrap itself in knots. I am head over heels in love with this character, but I still find myself rooting for Warner. For those of you who have read the book I am aware that this proves there is something very wrong with me.

Dear Warner,

There’s something about an ego-maniac that just wants to be loved that makes me want to take on the world to be by his side. You remind me quite a bit of Draco Malfoy, except crazier and with more daddy issues and more power and, dare I say it, hotter. I’ll touch you any time you want.

XOXO

Coffee & Wizards

Really though, this book is amazing. I feel like it’s going to be one of my measuring sticks against which I compare other writing.

Other books with similar aspects

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

recommended to those looking for something well-written with a strong female lead and a totally swoon-worthy romance that doesn’t overpower the story but actually compliments it.

not recommended to boys, I guess. It’s very much in the head of a women and I’m not sure if a boy could connect to it as well/in the same way, but I would love to hear a guy reader prove me wrong!

Don’t just take my word for it!

“HOLY MOLY. THIS BOOK IS INTENSE.” April@GoodBooks&GoodWine

“Buy a copy for yourself and for your best girlfriend and your favourite library. There are some steamy scenes that parents may want to watch for, but nothing is overwhelmingly sexy for a teenage reader.” Angel@MermaidVisions

“This is a book where the actual writing stands out on it own unsupported and apart from everything else.” ChickLitGirl

“It’s an amazing story, with great characters and beautiful writing. Be prepared to block off some time to read it, as you are not going to want to put it down.” Christa@HookedOnBooks

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
Discussion post going up tomorrow!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [review] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. CLG says:

    This book. *happy sigh*

  2. reutreads says:

    Team Warner, holla! Tahereh said he’s supposed to be written that way, so no worries :D

  3. Thank you for the linkage, Meg!

    ALSO.

    Boohiss Warner. I’m totally an Adam girl. But I get your point with him.

    Also? The audiobook sounds great. I don’t think I’ve listened to one narrated by Kate Simses yet.

    • megtao says:

      After everything you’ve done for me you NEVER have to thank me for anything ever. <3

      Yeah, and I get your point with Adam too. I wish I didn't because it would make it easier to cheer for Warner…who I just realized I've been calling Warren. This is what audiobooks do to my spelling of character names.

      It's really good! She also narrates Crossed by Ally Condie (the Cassia chapters), but I don't like her as much as Cassia…probably because I don't like Cassia.

Leave a Reply

