[discussion] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Haven’t read it? Check out my review here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions,” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

Okay, first of all I want to say HOW EPIC WAS THAT ENDING. For real. I didn’t understand why people were saying it was part superhero story until that purple leotard showed up and I was like ohhhhhh, and then I was like OH OH OH MY GOD THAT IS SO AWESOME BECAUSE SHE’S A FREAKING SUPERHERO.

Seriously though. Super. Hero. I love her. Juliette is so awesome.

And it’s for that reason that I know she should be with Adam, but I just find Warner so much more interesting as a character. I really, really, really want to see more into that twisted head of his. Also, I want him to find a true love. Preferably me. Not Juliette because she needs to be with Adam, but he needs someone to love him. Or he needs to die saving Juliette. I’d be good with either.

Also, can I just say that the secondary characters are awesome, especially Kenji. Like, I might ship Kenji/Juliette a teensy bit. I need this to become a movie just so I can see Kenji and if he isn’t as gorgeous as he’s supposed to be somebody will die.

Daito Shunsuke is kind of my go to hot Japanese guy. Seriously, look at him. He needs to be in everything ever.

Also, the fact that there are some non-white characters: love. Am I wrong in thinking that Castle is Black? It’s never explicitly stated, but I guess the dreadlocks and the dark brown eyes made me think that. I feel like I’m stereotyping. Am I stereotyping? Is this better or worse than assuming a character is white…

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to [discussion] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Kyle says:

    1. I thoroughly enjoy your use of the strikethrough.

    2. I agree about the ending. I thought it was awesome that they all had powers and was kind of X-menish. It makes me really want to read book 2, more so than if they were just on the run.

    I like these posts!

  2. Candice says:

    “I feel like I’m stereotyping. Am I stereotyping? Is this better or worse than assuming a character is white…”
    I think we all have those moments… where we envision a character based on our experiences with the characteristics of a character given by an author. I don’t know if I would have made this assumption that Castle is black because I haven’t read the book, but I don’t think envisioning him a certain way because of certain appearance traits is really stereotyping in this case. And to answer your second question… I really can’t. I don’t have a problem with myself assuming a character is white unless I mentally change their race/ethnicity after the author has given me that information. Then I have to mentally scold myself and shake my finger at me.

  3. I’m with you on Warren. It seems like there’s so much more to him. Yes he’s the bad guys but it seems like he’s got a whole range of motivations and emotions underneath that tough exterior.

    I’m also excited to see how Mafi develops this whole superhero angle as well because I have a very real love for the X-Men and hope that she makes it just as awesome as I think it could be.

    • megtao says:

      I think he has a whole lot of crazy under the tough exterior. Like serious crazy. Which is kind of cool because Juliette was the one put in the mental institution, but he’s the one who should be given mental treatment.

      And yes. This so much. So good!

  4. Jasmine says:

    Okay, I’m feeling like an idiot right now, but I cannot for the life of me remember the ending.
    I’m kind of a fan of Warren too. I think it’s mostly because Mafi created such a multi-faceted villain in him. He’s not just evil plain and simple which makes him really unique.
    I thought the side characters were fantastic too. I really liked Kenji and Adam’s little brother (I’m not making the brother up, right? Man, I have a bad memory :P)

    • megtao says:

      They end up in the resistance compound place where all the other X-Men people with powers are.

      The brother is real, and he was one of my favourites too!

  5. I loved the book so much. And then I got to the ending and I swear my heart exploded from happiness. THE BEST ENDING OF THEM ALL!

    Yeah, my panties are on fire for Warner fo sho.

  6. Shatter Me was THE BOMB. I really enjoyed it. And, maybe I’m crazy or something is wrong with me, but the more I think about Warner, the more I get tingles of the good variety. There’s something wounded about him or something that appeals to me somehow. I usually get cringy with triangles, but I have no problem with there being a Juliette/Adam/Warner triangle here. NONE.
    And I also assumed–for good or bad–that Castle was black because of the dreadlocks. It’s so hard not to draw conclusions/make assumptions from your own perceptions when you’re reading. I know I struggle with it, if only because I have this mild obsession with knowing how to picture the characters in my head while I’m reading, and I want to see them the way the author envisioned them. I rarely notice it while I’m reading, though. After I’m done, I’ll wonder about it more.
    And that ending WAS badass! I can’t wait to see where things go. She basically sounds like Storm from X-Men, so I’m curious to see what other superhero’s we’ve got going on here. AND! I’m SUPER curious about why her touch doesn’t affect Adam or Warner. What’s the deal with THAT?!?!

    • megtao says:

      My best guess is that people that love Juliette can touch her. I’m sure there’s a legitimate reason, but that was what I thought of. Otherwise, I’m guessing that Adam and Warner both have powers, and those powers let them be protected from Juliette’s powers.

Leave a Reply

