Doctor Who Watch-a-thon 1×4

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

Aliens of London by Russell T Davies

Summary

The Doctor and Rose return to present day London to check in with Jackie, except what was supposed to be them being gone twelve hours turned out to be them being gone twelve months. If an upset Jackie wasn’t enough, aliens crash-land in London! Looks like Rose and the Doctor have their work cut out for them!

image

Jackie is one of my favourite Doctor Who characters ever. (I say this about basically every Doctor Who character…but it’s because they have such excellent characters!) Jackie reminds me a lot of my mom, and during Rose and Jackie’s reunion I could easily connect with the emotions they were feeling. Just like Rose, if my mom starts crying, I start crying, and my mom would totally pull the mom guilt-trip on me too. She would also totally slap the Doctor if he took me away for twelve months. (Dear Doctor, this is not to put you off from taking me away with you. I’m sure my mom doesn’t hit that hard…)

I also really enjoyed the Mickey/Doctor interaction in this episode. This is the real beginning of their relationship, and it’s so different from what it grows to be. It’s amusing to  remember how it begins, and I can’t help but laugh at the Doctor’s childish insults and how Mickey keeps scrunching up his face in a very Rickey like way. I still don’t like Mickey in this episode. He’s too…spiteful, I guess, though I can understand why. I don’t like disliking Mickey because I know who he becomes, but it’s really hard when all you get to see is the idiot who runs into walls…

A couple final remarks: Eccleston’s eyebrows are fantastic, when the Doctor was interacting with that kid I think I spontaneously became pregnant with his child (the Doctor’s child…not the kid’s child), I spy a Torchwood actress, and yay Harriet Jones! <3

Favourite Quotes

“He’s not my boyfriend, Mickey. He’s much more important.” – Rose

“Excuse me, do you mind not farting while I’m saving the world.” – the Doctor

Death Toll: somewhere around 20

Fantastics: 1

Skills I’d like to steal from the Doctor: reading things in seconds

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-thon 1×4

  1. I love Jackie too! And you’re totally right about Doctor Who having fantastic characters. :)

  2. Samantha says:

    Aliens in London and World War III are some of my all-time favourite episodes. Just everything about them is fantastic! Plus, my absolute favourite Doctor Who quote is in World War III. XD

Leave a Reply

