[review] Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

ARC provided by Angel from Mermaid Visions.
Warning: Contains spoilers for Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and you can find my review of it over here.
Already read it? Check out the discussion post over here!

Then!Lena is fighting to stay alive in a world that wants her dead because she’s been infected by love even though she’s lost the one who infected her. Now!Lena is fighting back.

Pandemonium (Delirium, #2)

This doesn’t happen often, but I actually loved Pandemonium more than I loved its predecessor Delirium. While Delirium seemed to drag for large chunks of time as characters were developed and background information given, Pandemonium was able to jump right into the action, and with two timelines there was twice as much action!

Character development continued, and we got to not only see some new versions of Lena, but some other equally interesting characters, including Julian who I didn’t like and then didn’t want to like and then was really confused about how I should feel about him. It’s complicated. Anyway, I liked that the focus was more on Lena and her personal journey and less on the romance element, though romance fans will not be disappointed either. Maybe.

If there was one element that seemed to fall slightly lower than I was expecting it would be the writing itself. Delirium‘s narration was so polished it read like poetry. Pandemonium had its moments to shine, but I think Delirium‘s description flows more, though maybe that is a good reflection of the stories themselves as Pandemonium is grittier and blunter and so is its characters.

Books with similar aspects

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

recommended to fans of Delirium–you will not be disappointed.

not recommended to those who have not yet read Delirium. Go read it first.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Lauren Oliver is truly a tour de force when it comes to dystopian novels–Pandemonium will leave readers breathless and amazed once again.” Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“Obviously, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver doesn’t suffer from second book in a series syndrome. YOU GUYS! The story actually advances.” April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“This is without a doubt a sequel that’s as good as the first and a series that everyone needs to read.” Christa @ Hooked on Books (this one opens with a Doctor Who gif. Just throwing that out there.)

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
Please respect your fellow readers and avoid spoilers in the comments.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [review] Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

  1. megtao says:

    Sorry, I had to unapprove your comment for spoiler reasons <3

  2. YES! I think that Delirium’s writing is a bit more poetic, but Pandemonium is much more gritty. That’s actually a great way to describe it.

    Also? With you on Julian. I didn’t like him, didn’t want to like him and then was confused.

    • megtao says:

      I’m glad you liked that description because it was totally a spur of the moment addition XD

      I can’t wait for Requiem so that my confusion can go away.

  3. I really liked the two timelines. Like you I thought it allowed the action to start right from the get go. Also I think it added suspense because it kept bouncing you back and forth before you really had a chance to get a grip on what’s going on.

    • megtao says:

      Yes! It was also just a really interesting way to do the second book. I like that she was playing with the narration style and I think the fragmented narration really reflects the fragmentation of Lena and the society.

Leave a Reply

