[Fantastic Five Friday] Movies I Make Everyone Watch at Least Once

Fantastic Five Friday is a new weekly meme hosted by Anna at The Weekly Enthusiast. You can take part even if you don’t have your own blog: just comment on her FFF post of the week!

Five Movies I Make Everyone Watch at Least Once

5. Spirited Away

image

I’m kind of a Miyazaki fangirl. This was my first movie of his I watched, and I stumbled on it by complete accident. Best accident ever. Miyazaki is such an amazing story teller. His characters are so real, and there is no such thing as a “good” person and a “bad” person. Everyone has a little bit of both.

4. Labyrinth

David Bowie in leather pants. Need I really say more? Honestly though, this movie is so corny and 80s, but I absolutely love it. I totally ship Jareth/Sarah.

3. The Swan Princess

You may remember me mentioning my intense love of love-hate relationships? This is one of my favourite one’s out there. Plus, around the same time I watched this movie I had an intense wish to be blonde (one of the reasons Venus was my original favourite Sailor Scout…or maybe I wanted to be blonde because of her?), and Odette was a goddess to me. I still sing “Far Longer than Forever” and pretend I’m her sometimes…

2. Howl’s Moving Castle

Remember my whole “Miyazaki is a god” thing. Here’s another one of his movies that I adore. The characters in this movie crack me up, and I am so in love with Howl I can’t even. And the backgrounds! And the themes! *swoons* (The books are pretty awesome too!)

1. Star Trek

There’s a reason this is the first movie I ever reviewed on this this blog. I don’t generally rewatch movies, but I’ve seen Star Trek several times and every time I do I find it entertaining. I’m dying waiting for the sequel, and any time a friend comes over it’s one of the first things I ask if they’ve seen.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in fantastic five friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Fantastic Five Friday] Movies I Make Everyone Watch at Least Once

  1. sanalith says:

    LABYRINTH!!! \O/ \O/ The world would be a better place if everyone could just take a moment and share fangirl squees over Jareth. And Spirited Away is SUCH an amazing movie. I remember the first time I saw it how much it made me really sit down and just think about things. And yes, Miyazaki is a god, no question. You’re also making me really want to watch this version of Swan Lake. I remember watching a different, more anime-style version growing up (ah, it’s this one here! and I fell in love with it.

    And while watching Trek 2009 made me sick to my stomach and I could hardly get through one viewing of it, I’m always thrilled to see new Trekkies being brought into the fold, and I DO hope your love for it encourages you to watch the originals! <333

    • megtao says:

      I’ve never seen Swan Lake before. You really should see the Swan Princess. It’s great.

      I do plan to watch the originals eventually. Why is the new movie so upsetting for you?

      • sanalith says:

        I’ll definitely look into it! It sounds pretty cool! :D

        As for Star Trek…well, part of it is that I don’t deal well with reboots in general. But Star Trek is special to me. I’ve been a Trekkie since I was 10 years old, and it’s a huge HUGE part of me. It’s probably the only show that I can honestly say truly, fundamentally changed my life. I’m extremely protective of The Original Series, mainly because it’s technologically SO far behind us now, and a lot of people can’t get past the cheesy costumes and FX to see the beauty underneath. And while I know this version is technically supposed to be an alternate timeline, I just didn’t deal well with all the changes they made. (Spock was the worse for me XD) Everyone just seemed SO out of character. (Well, ok, they got McCoy DOWN, he was awesome, even I’ll admit that!!)

        So yeah, I don’t at all begrudge people for loving it, because Star Trek is timeless and beautiful and we NEED more Trekkies in the world, but as for me, I’ll be sitting in my basement watching the originals with the cheesy upside-down Enterprise model and the painted green women! :D

  2. MIYAZAKI IS A GOD.
    For real though.

  3. Labyrinth! Swan Princess! Star Trek!
    YESSSS.

  4. natalierenae says:

    THE SWAN PRINCESS!!! I was so intensely in love with that movie as a kid, and I still love to watch it. I still occasionally tear up at the end! Lol.

Leave a Reply

