[review] Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter

Before, Cammie left on the most important and dangerous mission of her life, the mission to find out what happened to her father, leaving her friends and family behind in order to protect them. Then Cammie wakes up in a convent four months later. Now Cammie must somehow retrace the steps she can’t remember, but how can she track her most capable foe yet: herself?

Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls, #5)I just started reading the Gallagher Girls series a year ago, and I am SO HAPPY that I did. Ally Carter has a fun and light  style that literally had me laughing out loud at times. She has created a group of characters that I would be happy to call my friends, and in a way they are.

What’s really great about the Gallagher Girls series is that Carter is building to something. Every book ups the stakes, and so in Out of Sight, Out of Time the stakes are higher than they’ve ever been before. I’m not just talking about the spy stakes. Relationships are questioned, and it becomes more and more difficult to discover who to trust. BUT I never feel like the characters are forced to regress in order to create this drama. Often in series there is no character growth over the series; instead, each book deals with the same issue, with the character gaining the same personal growth, and then returning to stage one at the beginning of the next book. Thankfully, the Gallagher Girls series is different.

Because the book was so impossible to put down, I was really worried that the conclusion would fall flat for me, but I was actually impressed. It answered some questions, but created new ones that will definitely have me continuing the series (not that there was any question that I would be).

Books with similar aspects

Heist Society by Ally Carter

Partials by Dan Wells

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

recommended to girls of all ages

not recommended to those looking for a super deep and tangled mystery

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Ally Carter brings her A game to the 5th installment of the Gallagher Girls series, and the emotional impact will leave you as winded as running through an unknown forest with assassins after you.” Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“Ally Carter has a gift for making a character that is relatable because she is strong and smart. Cammie defines herself based on what she does and the choices she makes, and YA could use more heroines like her.” Jen @ Almost Grown-Up

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [review] Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter

  1. I just started reading this series last month and it was so fun! I love Ally Carter’s books because of the light fun style you talked about, and also because of the SPIES and THIEVES. I love that they are both these secretive cultures that have lingo and history and all this great stuff that is totally mysterious to me. Woot!

Leave a Reply

