Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×12

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

Bad Wolf by Russell T Davies

Rose, Jack, and the Doctor wake up on game shows with no idea of how they got there. Time is running out for them all as the games have a murderous twist.

One of the greatest things about Bad Wolf/The Parting of Ways is that it shows how much the Doctor affects things, and it’s not always for the better. At the end of The Long Game the Doctor leaves without “tidying up” and this is the result. Everything that happens in these two episodes is the Doctor’s fault, and I think he feels that very acutely for the first time.

There is also quite a bit of comedy (despite the lack of interaction between our trio what with them being separated and all). Jack’s part is my favourite. Whether he’s fondling a robot or pulling a laser out of do we really want to know where? Captain Jack is always charming and amazing. (Seriously though, does he always just have a laser hidden on his person? Who expects to be naked and need a weapon?)

For me, this episode is pretty heart-breaking when it comes to what happens to Rose. Remember that Rose has spent the majority of her life feeling worthless because she’s not book smart. Then she gets put on a trivia show that she has absolutely no chance of winning. By the time it gets to the face off you can see how much every wrong answer hits that part of her that had been slowly healing from the Doctor’s support. It felt like everything she had gained was stripped away.

The Doctor is very interesting to watch in this episode. His flirting with Lydia always confused me, but I also find it interesting because he promises her he’ll save her in this episode. Just keep that in mind while watching the finale. His reaction to Rose’s death breaks my heart, and I love the contrast between Jack and the Doctor. I love that Rose is this connection between the two of them. Other favourite Doctor expression moments: when he realizes Rose is still alive and when he realizes the Daleks are still alive and everything he sacrificed in the Time War was for nothing.

Favourite Quote

“No cause this is what I’m going to do. I’m gonna rescue her. I’m gonna save Rose Tyler from the middle of the Dalek fleet, and then I’m gonna save the Earth. And then, just to finish off, I’m gonna wipe every last stinking Dalek out of the sky!” – the Doctor

deaths: 1

things the Doctor does that you shouldn’t if ever in the same situation: give your gun to the enemy…

Unsung Hero: The Controller. She is freaking bad ass.

new thing I caught in the rewatch: JACK HAS A TARDIS KEY!

episode I want to see: Jack, Rose, and the Doctor go to Japan!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×12

  1. I noticed he had a Tardis key too! I was wondering about that…
    I also feel like Jack is the kind of guys who is frequently naked and in tricky situations that may require a laser.I imagine he’s jumped out of a few bedroom windows in his life time ;)

    • megtao says:

      And he never gives the key away, right? So I have this hope that one day he’ll find Eleven randomly and just, like, show up in the TARDIS XD

      LOL and he just walks around with a laser let’s not think about where ALL THE TIME? XD XD XD XD DX

Leave a Reply

