[review] Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire

Goodreads summary: The long-anticipated sequel to the million-copy bestselling novel Wicked. Beloved novelist Gregory Maguire returns at last to the land of Oz. There he introduces us to Liir, an adolescent boy last seen hiding in the shadows of the castle after Dorothy did in the Witch. Bruised, comatose, and left for dead in a gully, Liir is shattered in spirit as well as in form. But he is tended at the Cloister of Saint Glinda by the silent novice called Candle, who wills him back to life with her musical gifts.

What dark force left Liir in this condition? Is he really Elphaba’s son? He has her broom and her cape — but what of her powers? Can he find his supposed half-sister, Nor, last seen in the forbidding prison, Southstairs? In an Oz that, since the Wizard’s departure, is under new and dangerous management, can Liir keep his head down long enough to grow up?

Son of a Witch (Wicked Years, #2)Those of you who are regulars (as I assume most of you are) know that I always write my own summaries, but trying to summarize this book is impossible because everything happens and at the same time nothing happens. It’s very confusing and frustrating. I guess I should not have been surprised because I found Wicked to be a very frustrating book as well.

But while the plotting of this book leaves much to be desired in my opinion, the writing is full of wit. It would probably be described as a satire, and it openly mocks and accuses many aspects of modern society. The writing style is definitely the greatest strength of this book, and without it I would probably say to pass it by. As it is, if you’re not a fan of satires, the book is probably not worth your time.

If you do choose to read it, I recommend the audiobook which is read by the author. Not only is it nice to hear the pacing and voices that the author imagined originally, but the addition of music (which plays a significant role in the story) helps you to immerse yourself in the story. Furthermore, it is not so strenuous to read this book when it’s being read to you. I listened to it for about an hour a day on my way to and from placement and found that pleasing. I think if this was the only book I had been reading at the time I would have been bored and frustrated, so having it on audiobook and then having a physical book I could read when I wasn’t driving and wanted to read worked well for me.

Books with similar aspects

Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town by Stephen Leacock

recommended to satire and political fans

not recommended to those who are fans of the musical Wicked…this is not that story.

You’ll have to take my word for it; no one I know reviewed it :(

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to [review] Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire

  1. I loved Wicked (the book) but for whatever reason have never got around to reading the rest of this series. Your review has reminded me to get on that! I like your recommendation of trying this via audiobook – definitely the easiest way for me to squeeze a book in.

    • megtao says:

      It’d been a year or two since I read Wicked as well, but it was easy enough to follow. I don’t think it was necessarily a necessary sequel, so it’s easy to forget that one exists.

  2. I actually have not read this one yet, though I too have read Wicked (and loved it). It does sound like a fun read though, since I do tend to enjoy more satirical works sometimes.

  3. Pingback: [review] The Wicked Years by Gregory Maguire | coffeeandwizards

Leave a Reply

