[review] Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

This is the story of Min Green and Ed Slaterton, two people who shouldn’t have been perfect for each other but almost were, and that is why they broke up. Told by Min in her letter to Ed explaining each of the items she collected during their relationship including a movie ticket, an empty box of matches, and a protractor.

Why We Broke UpDaniel Handler (you might also know him as Lemony Snicket) has a way of coming up with original ideas that have you slapping yourself for not thinking of them first. Of course! A sad story for children in which you constantly inform the read that it is a sad story! Of course! A story of a break up using that little box of things that people collect of their relationship! Slap. Slap. Slap.

And the idea isn’t the only great thing about this book. Lemony Snicket fans will recognize the wonderful stream of consciousness writing that I know I always loved from The Series of Unfortunate Events. But, this book has its own original voice with the narrator Min, with whom I immediately connected. Min’s words sounded and felt like they could have been my own, despite my never having broken up with someone. It’s not that me and Min are particularly alike, but there’s something about her that will make her familiar to any reader, I think.

Of course, I must comment on the  brilliant layout of the book. The illustrations added to the story in a way that made me wish all YA novels were illustrated. Why should we give up pictures just because we’re now “adults”?

The story itself held no surprises in the same way that Unfortunate Events held no surprises. Min and Ed break up (this is not a spoiler…it’s in the title of the book). Even the reason for why they break up can be puzzled out pretty early on. But that’s fine because you’re not reading for the end of the story, you’re reading for the story itself. You’re reading for the characters and the emotions and the good moments even though you know that it will end so very badly. And by the time you reach the end, I don’t think you’ll feel sad. I know I didn’t. Instead, you’ll feel healed and refreshed as if you’d written your own break up letter. In my Literary Criticism class I learned about how tragedy was supposed to create catharsis, and if I had to describe this book in one word that would be the one I chose: cathartic.

For someone who is in the middle of her first love, it wasn’t easy to hear that first love does not necessarily mean last love, but I think that theme is an important one for all young people. In a society where books teach us that insta-love means forever-love and that love conquers all, Handler shows us that sometimes love fails, and that it’s okay when it does.

Books with similar aspects

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

recommended to those who can’t get past their break up, have never been through a break up, or just want to watch a break up

not recommended to the insta-forever-love fans (though maybe this book would be good for you anyway).

Don’t just take my word for it!

“I didn’t expect to be as glued to the pages of Why We Broke Up as I was. But I started and finished reading it in almost one sitting, even dragging it into the kitchen while I got my dinner ready.” Jen @ Almost Grown-Up

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [review] Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

  1. I had no idea this was actually Lemony Snicket! Now I’m actually kind of intrigued by this book.Thanks. :)

  2. I bought this book that day it came out and I still haven’t read it! A travesty I know. It just got swallowed by my TBR pile. Your review reminded me how much I wanted to read it.

  3. Lisa says:

    I agree that you’re reading this for the STORY, not for the ultimate outcome. And what a solid story it is. I loved the illustrations and puzzling over why they broke up (as the title obviously indicates!) and the ultimate realization that sometimes, the relationship just isn’t right. And that’s okay.

  4. My cousin has actually already read this book, and she recommended I read it too. It sounds beautifully written, and really unique, and I can’t wait to check it out!

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My TBR List for Summer « The Librarian Who Doesn't Say "Shhh"

Leave a Reply

