[review] Frankenstein (2012)

Not gonna lie, when I went to see Frankenstein with Benedict Cumberbatch as the monster I was largely excited to see a naked Cumberbatch. Yeah, I’m a creeper, but really who would not want to see a naked Cumberbatch? Look at him go with that scarf. Forget Moriarty, HE’s Mr. Sex.

And then there was a small part of me that was looking forward to the acting and the adaptation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and blah blah blah all the literary fangirling instead of the literal fangirling.

Then the show started and it was like the literal fangirl in me shut up for the first time in YEARS and I watched and I watched and I watched and not once did I think “oh Benedict’s bum!” (Okay, maybe I thought that once… also may have been a little fixated on his leg muscles for a bit there, but considering how much I COULD HAVE focused on that, I think I did amazingly well.)

First of all, the adaptation was brilliant. It follows a linear format with the focus on the monster from the time of his “birth” to the end. I don’t know about you guys, but my favourite part of Frankenstein was always the monster’s adventures, so getting to see that instead of getting a flashback was AWESOME and SO HEART BREAKING.

Secondly, the acting was like nothing I have ever seen before. I have watched A LOT of things to do with Benedict Cumberbatch: movies, television shows, interviews, etc. but if I hadn’t known that it was him before hand I might not have realized it because he BECAME the monster. I’m not talking about his makeup. He literally became this character. His voice. His movements. The way his mouth formed words. EVERYTHING. There was maybe once or twice where all of a sudden it was like “oh, there’s Benedict” but the rest of the time it was all monster. And at one point I actually felt DISGUSTED by him. This is the man who I am so enamoured with I can’t even all the feelings, and his transformation was so excellent and complete that I forgot that I loved him and wanted to run away screaming from him. That is a sign of an amazing actor.

Next week I’m going to see it again with Benedict Cumberbatch playing Frankenstein (who has a much smaller roll). I’m really looking forward to comparing the two versions.

Man, I really wish I could have seen this live.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in theatre review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Frankenstein (2012)

  1. Alwyn says:

    AWESOME! I actually did see this live here in London. Also with Cumberbatch as the Monster and I couldn’t agree more: Amazing! I was on cloud 9 for hours and hours afterwards. Easily the best non-Shakespeare piece I’ve ever seen on the London Stage. Will be really curious to hear from you how the one with the roles flipped were!

Leave a Reply

