Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×11

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Love and Monsters by Russell T. Davies

Elton shows how even the briefest of brushes with the Doctor can change your entire life through a series of vlogs (video blogs).

P.S. I fully recommend listening to this while reading this post…because the gifs. Trust me.

I wasn’t excited to watch this episode because somehow I had it in my head that it was my least favourite episode of the second season. I’m not sure now why I thought that. Maybe it’s the lack of the Doctor; my internal Tennant fangirl was displeased, but I’m glad to say on this rewatch I was really impressed with what Davies chose to do, showing us that the world of Doctor Who is so much bigger than what we get to see in the television series.

As much as Doctor Who is a kind of “go anywhere, encounter anything, do anything” kind of show, it does fall into its own patterns. This episode breaks the pattern by allowing us to see the Doctor’s adventures from someone who is completely on the outside. And even better, it’s in vlog form! If you came across Elton’s vlogs without knowing about Doctor Who…wouldn’t you think he was crazy? The idea that the unbelievable story is true was really appealing to me.

LINDA reminded me a lot of the friends I’ve met on the Internet. Maybe we weren’t brought together by the Doctor, but we were brought together by a shared interest, much like LINDA. The fact that you can bond on a deeper level than the surface appeal of fandom and ships and the like is something I appreciate in my daily life. Though if my friends were absorbed, I would have figured it out a whole lot faster than they did. Seriously guys…haven’t you guys heard of Twitter? Text? Something?

Another excellent aspect of this episode was the focus on Jackie. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I absolutely ADORE Jackie Tyler. She is such a REAL character that when she was hurt by Elton I could actually feel my heart breaking for her. Her flirting made me laugh much louder than I should have. I just love everything about her.

And the fact that the Doctor went on this little side quest to get Elton just because Rose was upset about him upsetting her mom made me go all heart-eyed. You know he saved Ursula (who is also incredibly awesome, by the way) just because Rose gave him those puppy dog eyes. Oh! Oh! And I loved that the Doctor was just like “yeah, go ahead and kill him if you want” and then kind of slyly encouraged others to take charge. That’s SO the Doctor. Never getting his hands dirty; always bringing out the most in others.

Favourite Quotes

“Ursula Blake: Most likely to fight back.” – Victor (I want this on a t-shirt!)

“Let me tell you something about those who get left behind. Because it’s hard. And that’s what you become, hard. But if there’s one thing I’ve learnt, it’s that I will never let her down. And I’ll protect them both until the end of my life. So whatever you want, I’m warning you, back off.” – Jackie

“It’s not his fault, but maybe that’s what happens if you touch the Doctor. Even for a second.” – Elton

“You know when you’re a kid, it’s all grow up, get a job, get married, get a house, have a kid and that’s it. But the truth is, the world is so much stranger than that. So much darker. So much madder. And so much better.” – Elton

Innuendo quote of the ep: “Oh, Elton, I’m so sorry you can’t touch me.” – Ursula (Not to mention later they have a “love life.” Really? How does that work because you realize she is just a mouth…oh.)

Fanfic prompt: Ursula can never age… Her and Jack meet.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×11

  1. Samantha says:

    “Ursula can never age… Her and Jack meet.” – So my mind just went to a dirty place there. It’s Jack. He makes everything dirty. ;)

Leave a Reply

