[Top Ten Tuesday] My Author Bucket List

My Author Bucket List

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Marissa Meyer10. Marissa Meyer

Author of the Lunar Chronicles which started with Cinder, Marissa is one of my favourite people in the entire world. The only reason she’s not number one on this list is because I’ve had the opportunity to meet her once already. The second meet up is just a matter of time.

Ally Carter9. Ally Carter

Author of the Gallagher Girls series (review of book five here) and the Heist society series. Carter’s tweets always make me laugh, and her books are so much fun that I’m sure she’d be a delight to meet.

E. Lockhart8. E. Lockhart

Author of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, The Ruby Oliver series,  and Fly on the Wall, among others. I totally respect Lockhart’s messages in her books and would love to tell her in person how much Frankie meant to me.

Stephanie Perkins7. Stephanie Perkins

Author of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door. Stephanie has written two of my favourite contemporary novels ever, and she is a complete nerd, like myself. She’s married to a freaking wizard rocker. Basically, I want to be her, but I’d settle for meeting her.

6. Tahereh Mafi

Author of Shatter Me. Mafi’s novel is so wonderful and her tweets constantly crack me up and make me feel a real sort of kinship to her. It usually takes me years to fall in love with an author as much as I have fallen in love with her! (P.S. No picture for Mafi because goodreads didn’t have one D:)

Kristin Cashore5. Kristin Cashore

Author of Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue. These books have changed the way I look at books. Cashore is such an inspiration to me I would love to get the chance to tell her that in person!

Maureen Johnson4. Maureen Johnson

Author of the Shades of London series, 13 Little Blue Envelopes, and its sequel, among others. I half want to hug Maureen and half want to run away from her screaming. KIDDING. Mostly. But seriously, Maureen Johnson is one of the funniest, most interesting people you could possibly follow on Twitter and I love all of her opinionatedness and creepiness which are rarely related.

Tamora Pierce3. Tamora Pierce

Author of the Song of the Lioness Quartet, The Circle of Magic Quartet, and The Beka Cooper trilogy (book three review here), among others. Pierce was the first author whose books I began reading simply because they were written by her. This is how I learned that if I liked one book by an author, I was likely to like other books by that same person. Her books really began my love of reading, and I don’t know who I would be without having found her novels.

John Green2. John Green

Author of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherine, and The Fault in our Stars, among others. As one half of the vlogbrothers and co-founder of nerdfighteria, John Green is so much a part of my world and identity I feel like I already know him and have been meeting him for about four minutes at a time for several years now. I know he doesn’t take well to hugs, but I very much wish to give him a high five and exchange dftbas.

J.K. Rowling1. J. K. Rowling

Author of the Harry Potter series. I just really want to thank her for giving me Harry Potter and the opportunity to meet so many amazing friends and people. I want to thank her for giving a generation of readers hope and love and adventures. I want to thank her for giving me a place to call home, even if I can only reach it through the pages of a book.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] My Author Bucket List

  1. Stephanie Perkins certainly has fun hair! Alas, most of my favorite authors are dead.

  2. I’ve met a couple of these (John Green) and I’m always surprised to find out how genuinely nice authors seem.

    Here’s my
    Top Ten Books on Happiness.
    It would make me so happy if you stop by!

  3. Excellent list! And one that I could totally steal and pass off as my own (even if I’ve met a few of these authors I’d love to meet them again)

  4. John Green. I haven’t read a single novel written by him, even though I own several, but I think I’ve pretty much watched every of his vlogs. Gives me hope in humanity.

    Patricia // My Post

  5. Lucy says:

    Fun list! A few of these authors are going to be at Comic-Con this week so hopefully I’ll get the chance to say hi. Stephanie Perkins and Tahereh Mafi are so nice! I’d be so intimidated to meet John Green, but that would be awesome.

  6. Brittany says:

    What a great list! Good luck in meeting them :) Hopefully they have some events coming your way!!

  7. I just wish TH Mafi still blogged. Her tweets are great, but I loved the longer versions!!! Great list – great top ten idea too! (must copy)

  8. I am in complete agreement when it comes to JK Rowling and Tamora Pierce. They’re certainly two of the ladies that I would absolutely LOVE to meet, mostly because they changed reading and writing and stories for me for the rest of my life. They’re amazing!

  9. Amanda says:

    If I had an author bucket list, Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce would definitely be on it. And J.K. Rowling would be number one. I’m just a sucker for female authors who write great fantasies. :)

  10. John Green FTW. I could probably do top 10 author crushes but that might be sketchy :)

  11. Candice says:

    Your reason for wanting to meet JK Rowling made me smile! So sweet! Also, I want Stephanie Perkins’ hair. Or at least to do my hair like hers. Seriously, if I didn’t think I’d get fired (stupid corporation job!) I would go for it! Super list and hope you get to meet all of these great writers someday! :)

  12. Your top four is PERFECT. Great list! Alana was a big part of my childhood.
    DFTBA :-)

  13. aimee says:

    SO JEALOUS that you’ve met Marissa! I had exam stuff to do the one day she was in New York and none of her tours seem to bring her back here. :/ Hoping things change when Scarlet’s released!

    I want to meet Ally Carter and Tahereh Mafi too (though I still have to finish Shatter Me).

    But I already met Steph Perkins (she was awesome and we had a cool discussion about the marauders and now my Anna’s been signed :D ) a few months ago, and Maureen Johnson that one time. Didn’t actually meet John Green, but I saw him in real life and stood about fifteen feet away from him (doesn’t count, though hearing him speak in person was an interesting experience).

    AND YOU ALREADY KNOW THAT MOST OF ALL, I WANT TO MEET JOOOOOOO SO BADLY. (I wouldn’t know what to say. Thank you would never be enough.)

  14. Isn’t it great how we booklovers get star-struck by writers? What a great topic.

Leave a Reply

