[review] Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Warning: Possible spoilers for The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer.

Starting up right where The Ask and the Answer lets off, war has come to the people of New Prentisstown. The men and the women will have to work together if they’re to win, but are there really any winners in war?

Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking, #3)I once thought that The Hunger Games was the most gripping, will not let you go book that I’d ever read. Then I read this book. Gripping doesn’t even come close to describing it. Drowning. That is the word that works well this this book. I drowned in it. This book is like being tossed into a churning ocean in the middle of a hurricane. It is terrifying and you fight and claw your way to the surface for huge gasps of air, but there is no hope. Baby, you’re going down. And when you’re washed up onto the sand of some rock filled beach at the end, you’re left coughing up sea water, completely drained, and wondering how the hell you survived that.

True. Story.

The only other thing I want to mention is that this book totally made me come face to face with my heteronormative bias. I love it when books help you grow as a person, even if it made me feel horrible for having those assumptions. Hopefully, it will make me a little less assumptive in the future.

Books with similar aspects

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The Death Cure by James Dashner

recommended to war buffs and philosophical people. There is some heavy-hitting stuff in here.

not recommended to someone looking for something light. No lightness found here.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“A superb conclusion to this trilogy.” – Sharyn  @Chick Loves Lit

“You see, he breaks your heart and then he solders it back together again. WITH WORDS. The man is a genius.” – Anna Scott Jots

“I felt everything.” – The Dancing Reader

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

  1. Lisa says:

    FEEL ALL THE THINGS.

Leave a Reply

