Recommend a… Book by a Male Author

This is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit that caught my eye. Basically, every Monday there’s a new prompt which you use to recommend an awesome book. There’s not much I love more than recommending a good book, except maybe having a good book recommended to me!

My first instinct was to rec a John Green book, but I’ve already rec’d The Fault in our Stars, I didn’t want to be repetitive. My second instinct was to pick I Want to Go Home by Gordon Korman, but I’d already rec’d that one too.

Going through my recently read books, all of my favourites were by female authors, so I’ve had to reach back in my reading history for this one: Shade’s Children by Garth Nix.

Shade's Children (rack)Shade’s Children is about how one day everyone over the age of fourteen disappeared. Then, the buses came and took the remaining children away to camps where on their fourteenth birthday they too disappeared. Only those on the outside, those that have escaped through cleverness or new found special abilities know the truth. Under the supervision of Shade, the last adult, they fight back.

This is one of those books that I always recommend to people. I love the world. I love the pacing. I love the characters. I love how the beginning of each chapters has an interview with one of the characters or something similar that deepens the feeling of reality to more than a narrative. I love that this book made me feel things. It made me cheer, and it made me cry. I love everything about this book. And if you are a fantasy or sci-fi or dystopian or even just a good book fan, I know you will love it too.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in recommend a and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Recommend a… Book by a Male Author

  1. Huh. I’ve seen the cover and title for this one floating around a lot, but I never took the time to read the summary or anything. Dystopians are usually hit and miss with me, but I’ll have to try harder on tracking this one down. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Here’s mine.

  2. I have never heard of this book but I am a fan of fantasy, sci fi, dystopia and good books, so I will have to check it out

  3. Sounds like my kind of book:)

  4. I haven’t heard of this book but it sounds great! I’ll definitely have to check it out when I get the chance. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Here’s my Recommend A… post!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  5. Garth Nix is a brilliant author. My favorite series from him is the Abhorsen trilogy, which is fantastic. I haven’t read this one, but I certainly hope I get to!

  6. Shade’s Children is great! I haven’t read it in years, but I remember loving it. It was a little graphic and violent and disturbing but really interesting and a good scifi.

  7. Garth Nix! I’ve had Sabriel on my TBR for, oh, EVER, even though I only hear excellent things about it. He’s definitely an author I need to check out ASAP. :-)

  8. LOVE Abhorsen. Will have to give this one to my sister b/c she loves him too. I let her do the recommending this week even though there were so many I like! But now I have a gift idea for the future so yay!

Leave a Reply

