Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon ~*~Special~*~

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Runaway Bride by Russell T Davies

Moments after the Doctor says goodbye to Rose Tyler, Donna Noble appears in the TARDIS…in a wedding dress. It’s Christmas Eve and the Earth is in danger once again! But what’s it got to do with this reluctant run-away bride?

The first time I watched this episode I thought it was funny and kind of scary, but I was still in Doomsday shock, so I didn’t think of it much. Donna was a temp and the Doctor was off on another adventure. But watching it this time it meant so much more to me. This time I saw how FANTASTIC of an actor David Tennant is. The Doctor has literally JUST lost the woman he loves just before Donna appears. Not only is he trying to save the world, but he’s avoiding dealing with the emotional stuff, but every so often it sneaks up and kicks him in the face.

imageI actually cried through this episode this time around. Not only for Rose and the Doctor (though, GOD DAVIES, could you have dug the knife any deeper?!), but also for Donna and everything she goes through because this time around I love her just as much as I love the Doctor or Rose, and to see her go through all the self-doubt and have everyone she loves and cares about basically spit on her…it just breaks my heart.

Other than the awesome that is Donna Freaking Noble, I love all of the references to previous episodes. We have the Doctor asking if Lance is a Slitheen. We have the extrapolator. We have the robot Santa’s. We have the deadly Christmas trees. We have Canary Bay. Davies does an excellent job of making sure the watcher understands that Rose, the character new Whovians have been with the longest, may be gone, but this is still the same series, this is still the same Doctor, and this is still the same show.

I also want to add that I felt a lot more pity for the Empress this time around, and even a bit of anger towards the Doctor. Basically, he just committed species-a-cide. Like the Empress said, it’s not her fault they are born hungry. Do I think what she was doing was right? No. But do I think the Doctor could have, I dunno, not hidden his true identity before giving her the choice to leave the planet? Yeah, maybe. But maybe I’m being a little bit touchy because of some of the pro-woman comments that the Empress made (i.e. not liking how Lance treated Donna). I have issues when femininity is villainized….

Favourite Quotes

  • Doctor: She’s gone.
  • Donna: Gone where?
  • Doctor: I lost her

“Yes, she did, and she is not dead. She is so alive. Now jump!” – the Doctor

“Sometimes I think you need someone to stop you.” – Donna

Number of times Meghan cried in an episode THAT WAS NOT SUPPOSED TO MAKE HER CRY: 4

foreshadow alert! SAXON GAVE THE ORDER TO SHOOT DOWN THE STAR

image

I would like the Doomsday feelings to fade away now. Please.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon ~*~Special~*~

  1. Tamara says:

    Look at all the puretty gifs….

  2. Oh god sometimes the look of the Doctor’s face would make me choke up. My bf and roommate kept looking at me strangely. But I have to say I LOVE Donna!

  3. Elizabeth R says:

    Gosh, I love Donna. Although I constantly refer to her as the Donna Doctor. <3

  4. Samantha says:

    I love Donna Noble so much. And I always have. She is just so epic. I love the relationship that she has with the Doctor. She is my favourite companion after Rose.

    This episode always gives me so many feelings. Both for Donna and the Doctor. And, GUH, that last line. “Her name was Rose.” It chokes me up SO. MUCH. *tears*

    • megtao says:

      I didn’t care for her much in this episode the first time around. I was a little busy mourning Doctor/Rose, but now I’m totally ready to appreciate her bamfness in this episode. AND AHHHH THE FEELINGS WHY ARE THERE SO MANY!!!

Leave a Reply

