Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×1

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Smith and Jones by Russell T Davies

The Doctor wasn’t looking for trouble. Really, he wasn’t. He was just wandering around but then he noticed…well, you’ll find out! What he finds is Martha Jones, an escaped convict, and a hospital…on the moon.

Can we just take a moment to appreciate the Doctor’s sex hair.  Yes. Good.

There are so many things that make this episode fantastic, not the least of which is Martha Jones. I’ll admit the first time I met Martha I was not a fan. I was very upset about losing Rose and to have this new character “replacing” her, kissing the Doctor, flirting with the Doctor… I really just couldn’t handle it. Thankfully, I am now fully aware of how ridiculous that was and know that I can love both Rose and Martha because they are both bamfs, and, honestly, a lot alike.  (Except that Martha doesn’t immediately accept that the Doctor can travel in time. I like that, actually. Her suspicions are good.)

I feel like the Doctor has a kind of check list when choosing companions. Can they think clearly and intelligently when faced with terrifying circumstances? Can they accept the impossible and move on quickly? Can they show humanity? Can they run really fast? These are all things that the Doctor saw in Rose and now in Martha, and this is why he can’t just walk away from her, even though he feels like he’s betraying Rose or is better off alone or whatever reason it is he’s scared to let anyone else in.

Another thing I love about this episode is the parallels to New Earth, the first episode of season two. 1. Both episodes take place in a hospital. 2. Both involve aliens that look like Earth animals as villains. 3. Both have the Doctor commenting on shops in hospitals. 4. Both have a kiss that doesn’t mean what it should. I think Davies likes to bring these parallels into the first episode of a new season in order to connect the seasons. He does the same thing with New Earth/The End of the World (which is the second episode of season 1, but is basically the first one because the first one is, like, the pilot, okay?)

That being said… did anyone else notice that the Doctor basically kidnaps Martha? Dude… not cool.

Favourite Quotes

“I love my sonic screwdriver.” – the Doctor

“Well, sometimes I have guests. I mean some friends, travelling alongside. I had – there was recently a friend of mine. Rose, her name was, Rose. And… we were together.” – the Doctor

new irrational fears: straws

deaths: four (I’m not counting the leather fetish men…but I am counting the sonic screwdriver. RIP sonic screwdriver ;A;)

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×1

  1. Samantha says:

    I didn’t like Martha at all when I first watched this season. Not just for coming after Rose, but coming after Donna as well, who I had fallen in love with in her one special. And lol, I can still remember your reactions when you first watched it last year, lol. I was in England at that point and you kept tweeting me and Angel, almost constantly. ;)

    I still don’t love Martha, even now. But I do like her a lot better these days and can appreciate her bamfness.

    • megtao says:

      Donna was different though because she didn’t see the Doctor romantically. I think my Doctor/Rose shipperness felt threatened by Martha, and this made me initially dislike her.

  2. Glad to hear I’m not the only one with an initial dislike for Martha that’s completely irrational.

    Suspicions are good! Which makes me think about something. All these girls just get into a box to travel alone with a man they know nothing about all because he promises to show them the universe… If Doctor Who was a Law & Order episode it would not end well for them…

    • megtao says:

      I hope you can get over it faster than I did.

      This is very true. The Doctor easily could have been an actual mad man. Now that would have been a plot twist.

Leave a Reply

