[Top Ten Tuesday] Most Vivid Worlds/Settings

Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Personally, I find world building to be one of the toughest challenges as a writer, but I don’t think it often gets the recognition it deserves. It’s easy to go starry eyed for the romantic hero or the kick ass female lead or vice versa, but I think it’s world-building that pushes a story from good to great. Here are some of my favourites.

10. Middle Earth of Lord of the Rings

I don’t think I could call myself a fantasy lover if I didn’t include this on the list. Tolkien created a whole language for goodness sake. And he wrote songs in that language. For PAGES guys. PAGES. Like there is a whole bunch of freaking history and language that just wasn’t included in the actual books. I don’t even understand the depth of this world.

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam Trilogy, #1)9. Future Earth of the MaddAdam trilogy

You’ll find world building at its best in Atwood’s MaddAdam trilogy. This world that is like our world but not quite yet. It’s like looking into our future. A very scary future that I would like to avoid, thank you very much so stop mucking around people!

8. Thisby of The Scorpio Races

I love the island in The Scorpio Races. I love the races themselves and the tradition and the history that is behind it. I love the food and the people and just everything about this setting. “Rich” is an understatement when it comes to the setting of The Scorpio Races.

Wanderlove7. South America in Wanderlove

You might as well be travelling with Bria in this book, tasting the food and sitting in a rocking wagon with a dozen other sweating travellers. It’s the cheapest travelling I’ve ever done!

6. World of Girl of Fire and Thorns

Whether its in the capital city or out in the desert, the world Rae Carson has so expertly created serves as a beautiful back drop for a compelling and original story. It’s not one to be missed for the fantasy fans!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)5. Prague of Daughter of Smoke and Bone

The setting of this book is what really pushes it over the edge for me because in all honesty the romance isn’t that compelling and falls under most of the paranormal romance tropes, but that setting… that beautiful, beautiful setting. Breathtaking.

4. Ravka of Shadow and Bone

People, not only is the world building supermegaawesomefoxyhot and have its own lingo and characters who are shaped by their surrounding and ALL THE THINGS that good world-building should have, but also that world building actually has an IMPACT on the PLOT and VICE VERSA. You do not even KNOW how excited this makes me. IT MAKES ME WANT TO USE ALL THE CAPSLOCK YOU GUYS. ALL. THE. CAPSLOCK.

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, #1)3. Tortall

This is my first home away from home to be honest. Like Tortall doesn’t just exist in the books. It’s a part of me. It…just…is.

2. New Beijing from Cinder

The opening sequence of Cinder has to be one of the sweetest things ever. I love market scenes, and this market scene is the market scene to beat all market scenes. Not to mention the whole history and cyborg situation of life and Lunars vs Commonwealth and the technology and I just love it you guys. One day I will dance in Kai’s ballroom, okay?

1. Wizarding World of Harry Potter

This is a real place and no one can convince me otherwise. I freaking went there, okay. It’s real. IT. IS REAL. PROOF:

Sob sob sob I miss it so much you guys!!! kjdfaj;lsdkfj;al

Yes, I know. I didn’t include Narnia. I gave you Middle Earth; what more do you want from me? I also want to give a shout out to the Beautiful Creatures series which also has a fantastic setting.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Most Vivid Worlds/Settings

  1. tanyaptee says:

    Love the list! My favorites from the ones you mentioned are The Scorpio Races and Daughter of Smoke & Bone – both Worlds were spectacular.

  2. “This is my first home away from home to be honest. Like Tortall doesn’t just exist in the books. It’s a part of me. It…just…is.”

    YES YES YES YES.

  3. aimee says:

    I totally agree – world building creates an ENORMOUS difference in how much I enjoy a story, and I tend to love books more if their settings are somewhat significant.

    This post makes me want to reread Lord of the Rings and Cinder. (And it makes me want to read The Scorpio Races, Wanderlove, Girl of Fire and Thorns, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Shadow and Bone, and everything Margaret Atwood too. Er… yeah, I should get on that. ><;; )

    I agree so much about Cinder (I WANT TO DANCE IN KAI'S BALLROOM TOO.) And YES, the market scene at the very beginning of the book is when I knew I would love this novel so freaking much.

    YES YES YES to the Wizarding World and OF COURSE it is real. (I am DYING to go to WWoHP SO MUCH.)

    Awesome list, Meg! <3

  4. Adina says:

    Some great choices here – I too loved the settings in The Scorpio Races & Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  5. I loved the world building in Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it was so vivid and beautiful. And I will always support any inclusion of Margaret Atwood into reading lists

  6. So many I forgot! Big love to New Beijing and Prague in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Great list!

  7. Candice says:

    Oh Prague… I love it so! I really want to go there thanks to Daughter of Smoke and Bone! And I can’t believe I left of Thisby on my own list! Yikes, what was I thinking?! I did include Narnia, so I think I’m okay. Fantastic list!
    P.S. I WANT TO GO TO HARRY POTTER WORLD!!!!

  8. Priya says:

    I haven’t read the entire trilogy, but the world shown in Oryx and Crake really is creepy and vivid. Great list!

  9. Brittany says:

    I can’t wait to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone!!! And I want to go to HP world sooooo badly!!! Field trip?

  10. Helene says:

    Love your post! And Harry Potter is so amazing! And I still want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, that cover is so beautiful.

    My TTT

  11. Nicole says:

    Prague and Ravka didn’t make my list, but they’re definitely awesome! I think I have to read Tamora Pierce’s books…

  12. Ahh, I’m so jealous you went to the Wizarding World! It’s definitely my favorite setting of all time too! Great Top Ten! :D

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

  13. TrishaDM says:

    I have seen Daughter of Smoke and Bone on a few lists. I haven’t read it, but now feel like I should. So cool you went to see the Wizarding World of Harry Potter!

  14. Middle Earth was on my list for the exact same reason! I really need to read the Daughter Of Smoke and Bone. And I really need to read more Tamora Pierce. Great list!

  15. Lisa says:

    SO happy to see Oryx and Crake on here! Vivid, fo sho. But one I want to experience, yeah NO THANKS to the headless chickens!

  16. Miss Anderson says:

    I’m going to finally get to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and I’m totally excited about it. Also, I didn’t like the world in Oryx and Crake that much, but I forgot about how vivid it was. Good choice!

Leave a Reply

