[review] Heist Society by Ally Carter

Katarina is the daughter of a master thief and has been pulling jobs since she was a kid, but that isn’t the life she wants. Unfortunately for Kat, getting out of the heist society isn’t easy, especially when your father is accused of stealing a dangerous mobsters paintings. Now Kat must find the paintings and steal them back before she loses more than her chance at an ordinary life.

Heist SocietyI listened the audiobook of Heist Society, and man am I glad I did! I’m not sure how Angela Dawe did it, but she has the sexiest male character voice ever. I was in love with W. W. Hale the fifth so hard and so fast I got whiplash. Seriously. If there was nothing else in this book but a bunch of Hale and Katarina scenes I would have left this reading experience completely content.

Dear Hale,

I have written a lot of letters to imaginary book boyfriends over the years, but your the first one that I felt giddy about writing to. You are so real that I can’t help but feel that somehow you will manage to read this and then come look at me and smirk in that way you do. I know you could have any girl you want, except for the one girl you do want, but if you ever want to make her jealous, I am totally at your disposal.

XOXO

Coffee & Wizards

Fortunately or unfortunately, depending on your point of view, this book is about more than Hale. The plot is fun if not seriously thought-provoking. There was even a twist that caught me off guard, which is more than I can say for most novels these days. My favourite aspect (outside of Hale, of course) is Carter’s writing style. It is a confident style glazed with humour and sprinkled with moments of brilliance. Without a doubt, this series is a must read for all YA fans.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Ally Carter deftly weaves a tale of intrigue and walking on the wrong side of the law.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“HALE IS AWESOOOOMMMEEE.” – Reut @ Reut Reads

“Their story isn’t heart-wrenching or gut-churning, but it’s fast, fun, and full of intrigue.” -Strangemore

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [review] Heist Society by Ally Carter

  1. Candice says:

    Wasn’t the audiobook of this FANTASTIC?! I seriously loved this book oh so much. And Hale? Ohhh Hale! Love him so much!

  2. reutreads says:

    Ah my old reviews ZOMG I cringe. Those are really embarassing. Thanks for the linky! I am still excited for more Hale :)

  3. I’m happy to hear this was a good audiobook. I’ll have to keep that in mind next time I’m in the market for a new one. Although I’m not 100% sure this book would be one of my favourites I am totally intrigued by the thought of Hale

  4. Angel says:

    HALE IS SO AWESOME BUT I CALLED DIBS ON HIM LAST YEAR I WIN

Leave a Reply

