[review] A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Elder has his hands full with a ship no longer controlled by chemicals. Meanwhile, Amy receives a message from someone she thought she’d never hear from again…

A Million Suns (Across the Universe, #2)Let me be frank: I did not like this book. To be fair, I went in to this book expecting not to like it because I did not like Across the Universe either.

I did not like the character in the first book, and somehow I managed to dislike them even more in this book. I had not thought that was possible, but there you go.

Then there was the plot. Well, I say plot, but what I mean is build up. There was a lot of build up, like a rollercoaster ride that only knows how to go up, and I was thinking as the tension rose higher and higher, “this is not going to be good.” And it wasn’t.

I wished I’d stayed away. If I could go back, I would read neither of these books. But then, I was expecting to be disappointed when I read it, so maybe I created a self-fulfilling prophecy.

The covers, at least, are still very pretty to look at.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Overall still a great read that I read in one sitting and the pages flew by as I tried to find out what happened.” – Christa @ Hooked on Books

“Definitely a must read series!” – Kyle @ A Reader’s Pensieve

“Frexing awesome.” – Trin in the Wind

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [review] A Million Suns by Beth Revis

  1. Yes! Someone else who didn’t like these! I feel like I am more judgey than most. But the first book in this series was badly written and stressed me out! Like nightmares-couldn’t-sleep-stressed. I didn’t review it because I felt silly and had just kind of gone a bit grouchy on several other books, but I’m glad to see I’m not the only person who isn’t enamored with this series in the blogosphere!

    • megtao says:

      Everyone seems to love these, so I”m glad to hear I’m not alone. I was scared I would get tomatoes flung at me or something for not liking it XD

  2. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who didn’t enjoy these books. Amy drives me crazy. Actually so does Elder. They both just make me want to bang my head on the desk.

  3. Angel says:

    I couldn’t even finish this book, it annoyed me so much. Kudos to you for being able to get through it. Doctor Who and Firefly have spoiled me for good sci-fi dramas, and this series just doesn’t match up.

Leave a Reply

