Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×10

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Stay tuned for daily Doctor Who recap posts as I play catch-up. Normal posting will resume after I have caught up.

Blink by Steven Moffat

When the Doctor is stuck in 1969, it’s up to Sally Sparrow to follow the trail of clues to defeat the Weeping Angels.

Like “The Girl in the Fireplace” I used to really love this episode, and there are still a lot of aspects I really enjoy. I love the Weeping Angels as much as they terrify me. I love that we get a break from the Doctor (as much as I love the Doctor) and take a closer look at how the lives of ordinary people can be changed by the briefest of brushes with the Doctor (or the aliens he protects us from). And, as much as there are plot holes galore (really, the angels didn’t kill her in the opening even though she had her back turned to them 90% of the time? Oh, you guys went to the moon landing FOUR times? That’s not crossing your own time stream at all…) I do really enjoy the timey wimey stuff that happens.

BUT the more I watch this episode, the more I’m unimpressed  with it because the plot holes are frustrating. Because all of Moffat’s characters are the same. (What is his obsession with goofy looking guys? I’m pretty sure Kathy’s brother is an early version of Rory Pond except less cool.) Because all Martha does in this episode is nag the Doctor. Because apparently the way to make a girl fall in love with you is to follow her until she agrees to marry you. (See the most recent Christmas episode for more examples of Moffat’s tips on wooing a girl.)

And it’s upsetting because I think Moffat is really good at telling interesting stories. But he’s really bad at telling good stories.

image

new irrational fears: statues. All statues.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×10

  1. It’s funny because I’ve never seen an episode with the Ponds (yet!) but as soon as we got to see more of Kathy’s brother I was like “this guy reminds me of Rory”. Glad to see I wasn’t too far off the mark.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I agree with your irrational fears. I could not look at a statue for a month.

Leave a Reply

