[review] Scarlet by A. C. Gaughen

Scarlet’s life hasn’t been an easy one, which is why she finds protection and repentance as a member of Robin Hood’s gang of Merry Men. Hiding her identity as a woman from all except Robin’s innermost circle, she instead goes by Will Scarlet where she’s known for her fast thieving hands and sharp knives.

ScarletI had zero expectations when going into this book, and I think that is the best way to go into a book because I was completely blown away. Scar’s voice takes a little time to get used to because she uses a very low-class language, but it is essential to Scar’s character and the plot, so if you’re someone who is usually turned off by unusual voices, hang in there.

As you probably know, I have a love hate relationship with love-triangles. This is an example of a love-triangle done right. It’s heart-breaking and not always easy to read, but it’s real and it’s lovely and it shows so many elements of heterosexual relationships that are both good and bad. I just loved the romance side of this novel.

The ending is fairly open-ended, which I normally wouldn’t like, but in this case I felt was fitting. It gave it a realistic feel because life doesn’t just end (except when it does), so when books follow life in that regard I tend to approve even though ahhhh I really want to know some more stuff!!

All in all I think this was a a great woman-friendly retelling of the Robin Hood myth. I adored getting to see familiar characters in new ways, and I felt the plot and characters worked well together to create a fleshed out story that was so much better than anything I was expecting.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“SCARLET is a really fun, absorbing take on Robin Hood, and I enjoyed just about every minute of it.” – Amy @ Tripping Over Books

“I highly recommend this book, especially if you’re already a fan of Robin Hood.” – Christa @ Hooked on Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] Scarlet by A. C. Gaughen

  1. Samantha says:

    As a huge fan of Robin Hood I’ve had this one on my TBR list for ages. I’m looking forward to being able to read it. :)

  2. LOVED this book. It’s been months since I first read it and I still shove it into everybody’s hands any chance I get

Leave a Reply

