Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×2

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Fires of Pompei by James Moran

The Doctor takes Donna to Rome…except Rome is actually Pompei, and it’s volcano day.

This may be my favourite episode of Doctor Who ever. Like…regular non-season finale episode. That doesn’t involve Rose. It’s just a really good episode okay?

Largely because the Pompeian family is just like a modern day family. The parent-kids dynamic is so great and I love how Quintus is like a regular teenage boy. Put an Xbox controller in his hands and he could be my brother. Combine this with an interesting plot that involves a nice twist that isn’t too timey-wimey, and you’ve got a pretty flawless episode.

I also like the bits of stuff that fans can chew on, like the appearance of Karen Gillian. Those of you who are up to date on episodes and fan speculation will understand why this episode is so cool. I also like to think that Captain Jack is around somewhere telling a couple Time Agents he has the last supermegafoxyhot canon 3000.

And of course, there’s Donna freaking Noble who is perfect. She’s smart and thinks of things the Doctor wouldn’t (like the language thing), but also she has the humanity that the Doctor needs. I love that she’s not afraid to stand up to the Doctor. She doesn’t accept his commands automatically (even when she maybe should) because that’s just who she is. Though I didn’t realize until this rewatch that the Doctor was totally ready to leave without Donna. Do you think he would have if Donna had refused to leave?

Favourite Quote

“You fought her off with a water pistol. I bloody love you.” -Donna Noble

P.S. I definitely cried this episode bringing the amount of episodes I’ve cried during for this season up to two…out of three.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×2

  1. I loved Donna in this episode (I love her overall but especially this episode). I like the way she stands up to the Doctor. I definitely think he needs that

Leave a Reply

