Meghan went to LeakyCon! And at LeakyCon she met The Lizzie Bennet Diaries!

One of the things that makes LeakyCon so great is the random encounters. LeakyCon is like this magical land where anything can happen, and the people whose faces you usually watch through a computer screen suddenly have legs and stuff. Some of my favourite LeakyCon memories are the random encounters: the time when Hank Green walked by me while I was waiting for an elevator, the time Hayley G. Hoover was in an elevator that opened in front of me, the time when Jason Munday walked by the Lizzie Bennet Diaries panel line and gave me a much-anticipated hug. Finally.

Yes, I said the Lizzie Bennet Diaries panel, as in Elizabeth Bennet, as in Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, as in my go-to favourite book. You haven’t heard about the Lizzie Bennet Diaries? Believe me, you are missing out.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries is a modern adaptation of Jane Austen’s classic Pride and Prejudice using social media. The main story takes place on Lizzie’s youtube channel, but you can find a more complete story by also following Lydia Bennet’s youtube and (most recently) Maria Lu’s youtube. Not to mention, all of the characters’ twitters and tumblrs and lookbooks… You can find links to all the extra content (plus summaries) at the official website.

The actors are so perfect for their roles, and I can guarantee that they are even more perfect in real life. In between a couple LeakyLit panels, I saw Ashley Clements (Lizzie), Julia Cho (Charlotte), and Mary Kate Wiles (Lydia). I got to tell them how much I love the show and how perfect they all are and how adorable they all are (I mean look at them, aren’t they all super adorable?) And they were super sweet and told me that I was cute and it was just the greatest thing ever. Later I ran into Laura Spencer (Jane) in the elevator (man, I really love elevators), and she was super nice also. They are the most perfect group of perfect human beings I have ever had the pleasure to meet.

The most perfect human beings you will ever meet. Thanks to Helen for taking this picture!

You should really, really, really go watch the show. Wickham has just showed up (swoon), and I have high hopes that Darcy will make an appearance soon (ohpleaseohpleaseohplease).

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in random love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meghan went to LeakyCon! And at LeakyCon she met The Lizzie Bennet Diaries!

  1. Samantha says:

    I have no words to express my jealousy. Really. NO. WORDS.

  2. Sounds like such a fun experience! So jealous!

  3. Ahh that is so freaking cool! Looks like you had an awesome time! Apparently this was in Chicago? If only I had known sooner!

  4. I love The Lizzie Bennet Diaries to the end of the earth.

Leave a Reply

