[review] The Darkening Dream by Andy Gavin

The Darkening Dream1913, Salem, Massachusetts – Sarah Engelmann’s life is full of friends, books, and avoiding the pressure to choose a husband, until an ominous vision and the haunting call of an otherworldly trumpet shake her. When she stumbles across a gruesome corpse, she fears that her vision was more of a premonition. And when she sees the murdered boy moving through the crowd at an amusement park, Sarah is thrust into a dark battle she does not understand.  (summary from Goodreads)

This is not the kind of book I would normally read. I hadn’t heard of the genre “dark fantasy” before receiving the request to review this book, but I don’t get a whole lot of review requests, so I felt it was my duty as a book blogger to offer my services when they are requested. This was a poor choice, not because the book was bad, but because it is not my kind of book.

On the plus side, this book has a mix match of elements that, in general, work well together. Different cultures and mythologies are brought together in an overflow of information that is quite interesting albeit slightly overwhelming. This is not the kind of book that you can skim read. At points the pace was set at a breakneck speed, and if you weren’t raptly paying attention for a sentence or two, you would find yourself quickly lost.

I must also warn you that when I say “dark fantasy,” I put the emphasis on dark. There is descriptive violence, sexual acts, and murders. This book has teenage characters, but I think I would classify it more as adult than young-adult. If this was a movie it would definitely be rated R…even in Canada.

So, if you’re a fan of high-paced plots, a connoisseur of knowledge, and aren’t afraid of the dark, I’d say this is the book for you.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Might be worth a read if you’re a fan of vampire novels, or are tired of the same old characters.” – Christa @ Hooked on Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] The Darkening Dream by Andy Gavin

  1. This book was way darker than I was expecting as well. Especially considering the age of the characters. I did like the mixing of different mythologies and religions.

Leave a Reply

