Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×4

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Sontaran Strategem by Helen Raynor

When Martha Jones calls, the Doctor comes running. With the help of UNIT and Donna, the Doctor must discover whether a genius’s new technology is the Earth’s salvation or its destruction.

After watching the newest episodes of Doctor Who, it’s easy for me to forget why I love this show so much, and I am so glad I am doing this rewatch. This episode is FANTASTIC. I love the interaction between the Doctor and Donna, whether it’s him teaching her to fly the Tardis or her calling him a dumbo. I love that Martha and Donna immediately connect instead of doing the Sarah Jane/Rose thing. I love that Martha is doing what she wants to do. I love that Donna speaks up for the factory workers and is the one who figures out there are shenanigans going on. I love that the Doctor at the university is like a kid in a candy shop.

I do not like that Martha is engaged and was fast-tracked through medical school, but I guess you can’t have it all. (I mean really? Is the only way for you to show that she is happy for her to be engaged? And she couldn’t finish med school without the help of UNIT?  You could’ve just made it a couple years in advance or something. Timey wimey, remember?)

In other news, if you want to make me cry, make Donna Noble cry because that gets me every time.

Favourite Quotes

“Words are the weapons of women folk.” – a santaren (also the weapon of choice of the Doctor, and I’d like to point out that he’s pretty successful with that)

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×4

  1. I was also really happy to see Donna and Martha immediately connect. So much better than when they reduce the female characters to petty and jealous creatures

Leave a Reply

