[Fantastic Five Friday] Favourite Movies to Watch When Sick

Fantastic Five Friday is a new weekly meme hosted by Anna at The Weekly Enthusiast. You can take part even if you don’t have your own blog: just comment on her FFF post of the week!

 Five Favourite Movies to Watch When Sick

Currently when I’m sick (which isn’t often) my preference is to actually marathon television shows, but when I was younger it was all about rewatching those comforting movies.

5. The Little Mermaid

I’m a Disney girl through and through. I loved TLM because Ariel had such a pretty voice (and I did not), Ariel had such beautiful long red hair (and I did not), and Ariel was really good at swimming (and I was not). Beauty and the Beast was my go-to every day movie, but TLM was pulled out whenever I wasn’t at my best. Maybe I identified with her more when my sore throat made it impossible for me to speak…

4. Baby’s Day Out

This was the greatest adventure movie of all time. Am I the only one who watched this? I ADORED THIS MOVIE to the point where I ruined the VHS. I haven’t been able to find another copy since, much to my dismay.

3. Rock-a-Doodle

Another blast from the past that was the greatest thing ever. They don’t make movies this awesome any more! What makes this the perfect sick movie is the kid starts out sick as well, so it made me feel like someone was being sympathetic to me. Or maybe I just really like the Elvis Rooster. I can’t tell you for sure.

2. The Princess and the Goblin

STEP ON THEIR FEET. This movie is one of my all-time favourites (are you sensing a theme this week?) I have a thing for mis-matched pairings, and grandmothers in attics, okay? (I’m joking about the second one, but seriously, the grandmother in the attic was the coolest.)

1. Baby Sitter’s Club

Don’t ask me why, but when I had the chickenpox I watched this movie several times in a row. Maybe because I could fall asleep in the middle of it, wake up, and still be completely oriented. True friends *clap clap* *clap clap*

In a recent rewatch I was happy to be reminded of Luke and how it wasn’t completely gross to be attracted to him because he’s like twenty-two or something.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in fantastic five friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Fantastic Five Friday] Favourite Movies to Watch When Sick

  1. Oh my god! Rock a Doodle!
    I had forgotten all about that movie but it was the best. Must rewatch soon

  2. Reut says:

    I’m going to have to add Ferris Bueller’s Day Off to this list because it is pure awesome. And anything Disney works too!

  3. Rock-a-doodle and The Little Mermaid! YES.
    I love comfort movies. :-)

Leave a Reply

