[Top Ten Tuesday] REWIND: Ten Bookish Confessions

Top Ten Bookish Confessions

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. My favourite genre of music is Wizard Rock (Wrock)

It is music based on the Harry Potter series. My favourite bands include The Remus Lupins, Ministry of Magic, and The Moaning Myrtles. Listening to the wrock concerts at LeakyCon was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

9. I’m scared to reread Wheel of Time because it might not be as good as I remember

I started reading them when I was around ten, and I haven’t read one since high school. My opinions have changed quite a bit since then, so I’m really afraid that I’ll find I’ve outgrown it or that it contains some serious sexism that ruins the series for me.

8. I am incredibly biased towards my favourite authors

Like, to the point where I get insanely rage-y when someone insults their books. If it’s any other book, I can deal with the criticism, but the moment you touch one of my favourites I turn into a giant squid of anger.

7. I didn’t get Pride and Prejudice until I saw the movie

Granted, I was only about twelve when I first read it, but I had an incredibly hard time understanding who was speaking when to the point where I couldn’t follow the plot. It was only after watching the Keira Knightley version of the movie that I was able to keep all of the characters straight.

6. I prefer the Lord of the Rings movies

The books just have way too much singing, okay? And the books don’t have Orlando Bloom or Elijah Wood, so…

image5. I cried when I met Maureen Johnson

I feel like I will never live this down.

4. I never went to a Harry Potter book release

And I regret it every single day of my life. On the other hand, I went to four midnight Harry Potter movie releases.

3. I still enjoy Twilight

I hate just about everything about it, but actually reading the first book is enjoyable for me. I just really enjoy snark, and I feel like there are some really great one-liners.

2. I always fall for the wrong guy

Sometimes this is because I just have really bad luck (Yuki ;A;) and other times it’s because for some reason I have a thing for the insanely evil guy… *cough* Warren and Draco *cough*

1. I have a horrible memory for character names

To the point where I will go to film my book reviews after having JUST FINISHED the book, and I cannot remember the protagonist’s name. Don’t even bother asking me about the characters a month ago. I figure it’s because my mind is too busy remembering all of the characters from the Harry Potter series. I am okay with this.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] REWIND: Ten Bookish Confessions

  1. I am loving this list! I totally go rageaholic when someone disses my favorite authors too. I take it so personally! Also, the LOTR movies are definitely better (EDITING, people!). I have the worst memory for names too! I feel so stupid when I have to look them up when writing a review of a book I just put down.

    • megtao says:

      Basically, unless the name is in the title of the book, I am screwed. Especially in the books where the characters are so similar to other books.

  2. I get rage filled too! I’m glad I’m glad I’m not alone! ;D
    LOTR, movies are so much better.
    I still haven’t read Pride and Prejudice
    I’ve never been to a midnight release of ANYTHING!
    I suck at names too, I have to write them down!

    • megtao says:

      midnight releases are the best! I definitely recommend going to at least one. The Hobbit is coming out soon; I’m sure they’ll have one for that.

  3. Helene says:

    Awesome list! I had never heard of Wrock! It sounds amazing! And your not alone on the biased and names thing! Do not touch my favorite books or I’ll get really upset! And I have the exact same thing with names. I just don’t remember them… And I wish I could blame Harry Potter ;)

    My TTT

  4. I’m really bad with character names too. Especially if they’re names I’m not that familiar with (like from different languages). For War & Peace I had to keep a slip of paper with a character list on it as my bookmark.

    And I <3 Ministry of Magic

  5. Love this list! I wish I’d been able to go to a Harry Potter book release as well. I only hoped on the bandwagon once books 1-6 were already out, so by the time I got to book 7 it was out for like a week *sigh*. I also still love Twilight (especially the books) and I adored the LotR movies too…they made me like the books better. Oh and I’m also insanely biased when it comes to my favorite books/authors ;-)

    Great list, thanks for sharing. Here’s my very 1st TTT post

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

  6. Brittany says:

    OMG I’m SO BAD with character names! I’ll have just finished, be writing my review, and totally blank!!!
    Hmm, maybe I should check out some wrock! It sounds like a lot of fun :)
    And I still enjoy Twilight. I still half-make fun of the movies, but I still get super excited to see them! I really do enjoy Twilight, but I also like breaking it apart!

  7. Haha, this was a great list! I’m also pretty bad with remembering character names, especially if it’s a large cast. My mom and my aunt are the same way, and they’ve starting writing little notes to themselves about characters on their bookmarks! And hey, you’re certainly not the only one who enjoyed reading Twilight. ;) There are certainly books that I love from my younger days that are objectively “not good,” but I’ll still defend them and the enjoyment I got from reading them!

    Thanks for sharing your list!

  8. Lucy says:

    How fun you went to LeakyCon – I’d love to go sometime! And yes, I’m also very biased towards my favorite authors, and have a tendency to like the wrong love interest in books. I need to watch Pride & Prejudice – the movie and the mini series.
    Love this list!

  9. Wow, I’ve never heard of Wrock OR LeakyCon… I feel woefully ignorant for a Harry Potter fan!

  10. I love your confessions! I too have a hard time remembering character’s names sometimes…especially if the book itself didn’t blow me away.

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  11. Shelver506 says:

    I completely agree regarding LOTR, I love that you love the Kiera Knightley version of P&P, and I will most definitely be using the phrase “giant squid of anger” sometime in the near future.

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-rewind-top-ten-bookish.html

  12. Pingback: Looking Back at Last Week... - The Allure of Books | The Allure of Books

Leave a Reply

