[review] Looper

So in this sort of futuristic but not that far in the future city, time travel hasn’t been invented yet, but it is used as the mafia thirty years in the future sends back their hits to “loopers.” Loopers kill these people in the past and then there’s no messy clean up for the guys in the future. When the company wants to end a looper’s contract  it sends the future looper back with a load of cash, and then the looper kills himself* (usually without realizing it until its too late) and then live the next 30 years of his life to the fullest knowing exactly how he’ll die. But if a looper lets his loop run…

I wanted to see this movie for two reasons: 1. time travel and 2. Joseph Gordon Levitt. This movie had both of these things, but not in the way that I was hoping. First, the time travel in this movie has more paradoxes than a Steven Moffat episode of Doctor Who. It was sloppy and disappointing. Second, I really love Joseph Gordon Levitt and that will never change, but I wish he hadn’t been trying so hard to act like a Bruce Willis character.

What I wasn’t expecting from this movie was all the violence. That’s my bad. I really should have read the warnings. I spent way too much of this movie hiding because I was genuinely terrified I was going to witness something horrible. This is because very early into the movie the most terrifying scene I have ever witnessed happened. I felt ill for the rest of the movie and had trouble falling asleep. I won’t tell you exactly what happens, but I will say that if you are a fan of Unwind by Neal Shusterman you are in for a treat.

And by treat I mean a mental picture that will scar you for the rest of your life.

Now I’m not saying don’t go see this movie, but I am saying that if I had a time machine, I would go back to right before I was about to see this movie and punch myself in the face because that would be better than me having to see this movie.

*From what is shown in the movie, all loopers are male. I just didn’t want you to think I was being sexist in my pronoun usage ^_~
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to [review] Looper

  1. Oh no! I’m sorry you didn’t like this one :(
    I really enjoyed it, but I did jump everytime a gun went off. I swear loudest gun shots ever!

    • megtao says:

      If it wasn’t for all the violence and the ridiculous time paradoxes and the fact that they could have done SO MUCH MORE with the setting and characters if this had a been a book, then I would have enjoyed it.

  2. Candice says:

    Joseph Gorden Levitt has become my favorite new action star. Hands down, awesome. However, probably won’t be going to see this movie because meh… I’m not an action movie girl. But if it came on TV or something I might watch it. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it though; it’s got a great premise!

  3. sanalith says:

    I’m really glad you posted this. My husband and I were thinking about going to see it because we both love time travel movies, but I can’t deal with really gory violence, and from what you’re saying – especially with the opening scene – I think it’s best if I sit this one out. (And if the plot is really that full of holes…meh.)

  4. Brittany says:

    I LOVE JGL and I love the premise of this movie… Okay, and time travel in general. But I did hear that it was suuuuper violent and I just can’t handle that. I’m so glad I didn’t go see it in the theater then! I’m sorry your scarred for life :( I think that means that I DEFINITELY shouldn’t see it. Maybe ever. Sigh. I think they really messed up on that side and shut off a whole lot of potential audience members of people like ourselves.

Leave a Reply

