[Top Ten Tuesday] Favourite Contemporary Authors

Top Ten Contemporary Authors

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I was going to write about my favourite fantasy authors, but I feel like I would beating a dead horse (I love fantasy, you all get it), so I’m going with the OPPOSITE genre. Hurray for surprises!

10. Jackson Pearce

I’ve only read Purity by her, but it is one of my all time favourite contemporary books. I love her supernatural stories too, but since I see her mainly as writing in that genre I couldn’t put her higher up on the list.

9. David Levithan

I will go out of my way to read a David Levithan book, even if I don’t know anything about it. Sometimes this turns out really well and sometimes not so much, but I always respect his writing and the characters he creates.

8. Ally Carter

Gallagher Girls and Heist Society are two of the greatest contemporary series to ever be written. They are so much fun to read; I’m certain that anyone who picks one up will enjoy it.

7. e. lockhart

Everything this wonderful woman has written gives me hope for a better world. She reminds me why I want to write.

6. Meg Cabot

If I see Meg Cabot’s name on the cover, I am picking it up. This love is 9/10s nostalgia for the Princess Diaries, but whatever. This is my list.

5. Megan McCafferty

So the Jessica Darling series may have been one of the greatest things to ever happen to me. It also may not be. I’ll let you know after I’ve read Perfect Fifths…

4. Libba Bray

Oh, Libba Bray. I can’t even explain how genius this woman is. I am convinced she is the most well-written YA author out there. Her books should be studied in universities around the world.

3. Stephanie Perkins

Not only is she legitimately one of the sweetest people in the entire world, her books give me all of the fuzziest of feelings. If you’ve ever wondered what it feels like to fall in love, read one of her books.

2. Maureen Johnson

Maureen is crazy and that is why I love her. I mean, I also love her books, of course. She has an honesty to her writing that feels so rare. But even more than her books, I just love who she is as a person. Which is crazy.

1. John Green

If I have to explain this to you, then you must be new here. Welcome! I hope you’ll stick around. Best Wishes & Don’t Forget To Be Awesome.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Favourite Contemporary Authors

  1. Tamara says:

    Marissa Meyer goes without saying, I assume?

  2. Candice says:

    Great list! Love all these authors oh so much. And yes, if Meg Cabot’s name is on the cover, I pick it up too. True story, I picked up an audio book to listen to – was not impressed with it and overall hated it – because on the cover there was a quote by Meg Cabot saying “it’s a great book” (or something like that). If Meg recs it, Candice reads it!

  3. I don’t read a lot of contemporary personally but when I see David Levithan or John Green’s name I will absolutely 100% read that book. Libba Bray too.

  4. Great list! I can’t believe I forgot Meg on mine! Ugh!

    Check out my Top Ten Favorite YA Contemporary Authors HERE!

    Also, I have a FANTASTIC giveaway of a SIGNED copy Lauren Oliver’s new book, THE SPINDLERS, going on HERE!

  5. Lucy says:

    Yay for contemporary! When I considered making a contemp list the first authors I thought of were Levithan and Green, and I also adore Perkins. I really liked Purity too and hope Pearce writes more contemporary. And I still need to check out the Jessica Darling series. Thanks for the great recs!

  6. stuckinva says:

    Beauty Queens is on my MUST HAVE MUST READ list. Even if my husband does roll his eyes when I say it’s about teen pageant contestants. :D

  7. I have Jackson Pearce on my list as well, but I picked another genre.
    Perkins & Green are high on my list. I liked Maureen Johnsons book about Jack the ripper.

    TTT fairytales authors @thedailyprophecy.

Leave a Reply

