Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×6

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

The Doctor’s Daughter by Stephen Greenhorn

The TARDIS takes Doctor, Donna, and Martha to a new planet with a history based on war. There they meet Jenny: the Doctor’s daughter.

image

There is so much to love in this episode!

First there’s a whole bunch of stuff on what it means to be a father/mother/parent, how one becomes that, and the responsibilities attached to that. The Doctor strays close to the stereotype of the “dead beat dad” (if Jenny had been a child rather than a fully grown adult, I think this would be more apparent). I think this entire section of the story is really interesting because of the commentary it raises.

Next there’s the whole idea of history and myth and how they are created. With hundreds of generations happening in just seven days we get to see how easily history can be altered as it is passed down. I also really enjoyed the parallels to the biblical creation myth what with the whole “seven days” thing. I enjoy strange things.

Finally, can we talk about all the fantastic women in this episode? Donna may not be the most physical or the one with an Ph. D, but she is not afraid to speak her mind and uses all of her wiles to the best of her ability. She’s freaking fantastic. Martha is kind of touch and go for me. I love that she takes control (especially when the Doctor is not around), but I have issues with the fact that she takes so much comfort from her engagement ring. I really wish she could be happy with her decision to stay on Earth without that, especially considering how this season ends.

Last but not least is dear, dear Jenny. It was a little weird for me watching this episode this time around, knowing that David Tennant and Georgia Moffat (Jenny’s actress) are now, like, married, and stuff. I don’t know if I was imagining the sexual tension or if I’m just hyperaware to it now… Anyway, Jenny is awesome. I love that she is willing to break out of what she is expected to believe. Not only that, but she’s not going to just accept what the Doctor tells her either. I love her character, and it really upsets me that we don’t see her in further episodes. (P.S. if the Doctor and Rose had a daughter together, she would totally be Jenny. Just saying.)

And the last point I want to make is that David Tennant is the greatest actor of all time. Just…the best.

image

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×6

  1. The whole time I was watching this I was thinking that this is exactly what Rose and the Doctor’s daughter would be like. She’s got the best bits of each of them!

Leave a Reply

