[Fantastic Five Friday] Disappointing Finales

Fantastic Five Friday is a new weekly meme hosted by Anna at The Weekly Enthusiast. You can take part even if you don’t have your own blog: just comment on her FFF post of the week!

 Five Disappointing Series Finales

5. Dollhouse

Whedon has this ability to create the greatest of shows, but he’s never given enough time to fully wrap them up. I felt like Dollhouse had so much more to give, and while it’s ending was conclusive, it left me an empty husk of my former self.

4. Avatar the Last Airbender

As a hardcore Zutara fan I will never understand this ending. Never.

Seriously though. Never.

If they don’t end up together in Korra I am going to be a very angry Meghan.

3. Fruits Basket

Having read the manga, it’s upsetting to see where they ended the anime because there is SO MUCH MORE that needed to be shown. I have this same issue with Ouran High School Host Club, although it’s to a lesser degree.

 

2. Angel

So the only episode of Angel I’ve actually seen is the series finale, and before seeing it I’d only seen a handful of Buffy episodes, but I was (still am) a HUGE Spike fangirl, and I could appreciate Angel thanks to some friends who were big fans of his, so to have this cliffhanger as a season finale seriously upset me. Only Whedon can do this to me.

1. LOST

If I have to explain this you obviously have not watched this show.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in fantastic five friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [Fantastic Five Friday] Disappointing Finales

  1. Brittany says:

    Lost. Of course. I’m STILL upset about it and how long ago did the show end? Crazies.

  2. Haha I was waiting to see what # Lost would be on your list…. :P
    To be honest, I don’t actually know how I wanted Lost to end. This ending wasn’t ideal, of course, but I’m not sure what kind of ending would have appeased all the fans satisfactorily.

  3. I totally forgot about Angel. I kind of blocked that finale out of my head. The thing with the finale of Angel is that Whedon was cancelled before he could end it decently. And he was so mad at the network that he didn’t even try to change anything.

  4. Candice says:

    I may be the only person alive who actually loved the last episode of Angel. I think I appreciated the message behind it. I’m sure I could write you a term paper on it too. haha! But yes… I wish Whedon had had time to continue both Angel and Dollhouse.. and even Firefly. Granted, I didn’t watch any of these shows when they actually came on! haha

  5. stekawolf says:

    The only thing that bothered me about the Avatar finale was the mystery about what happened to Zuko’s mom. I loved the Lost finale, I thought the ending was good enough.

  6. LillyLilac says:

    I love Dollhouse as a whole but I wish that the show had more time to lead up to the finale and therefore could have made the ending more satisfying but I think that the show did the best if could given the circumstances.
    I was disappointed by the ending of the Fruits Basket anime as well. I love the show Angel even though I’m only half way through season 3 so I’d sugest watching more episode than just the finale because it’s actually a great show.

  7. Lisa says:

    OH man, I thought the ending of Avatar was fantastic! I wish Zuko had been with someone other than emo girl because man was there tension between him and Katara…but it had to be Katara and Aang. It had to be!

    BUT ALSO that Lost finale. For a show that was so immersed in mystery and red herrings, I wasn’t surprised by the ending all that much. But I am forever bitter we don’t know what happened to Walt. WHAT WAS HE DOING IN THAT ROOM! He obviously has dreams about the island since he left and NO ONE EVEN CARES ABOUT IT. Forever bitter am I.

  8. Of all these finales I’ve only seen LOST’s. But I have to disagree. I actually loved the ending and honestly I’m not sure how they can end it otherwise. SPOILER: I mean, we got justification that it was all real and not a dream. The flash sideways were kind of weird, but I really like the church scene and how they started remembering their real lives and all in purgatory. It made me super emotional haha.

Leave a Reply

