[Top Ten Tuesday] Books to Get You Into the Halloween Spirit

Top Ten Book to Get You Into the Halloween Spirit

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

It’s got witches and wizards and magical beasts. Goblins and ghosts and magical (Halloween) feasts. It’s all that I love, and it’s all that you need.

9. Dead Until Dark by Charlene Harris

Looking for some sexy vampire times? This is the book series off of which HBO’s True Blood is based. I wouldn’t recommend the latest couple books of the series, but the early stuff is really good.

8. Grave Mercy by R. L. LaFevers

You don’t get much spookier than having a character related to Death. The Grim Reaper in this book is pretty cool, and I would definitely recommend curling up with this book and a bucket full of candy corn.

Yupp, it’s gonna be a movie.

7. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

More witches! This series has a great setting that just screams autumn to me, even when it’s the middle of summer or winter…

6. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

If you’re going to do Halloween, you might as well do it right with this classic. That way when you run into a green faced, shambling guy with a bolt through his neck, you’ll know to call him the Monster and not Frankenstein!

Unwind (Unwind, #1)5. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

If you want to be completely creeped out, check out the unwinding scene. It’s spookier than a movie on paranormal activity.

4. Book of Blood and Shadows by Robin Wasserman

Nothing says trick or treat like a good old fashioned murder mystery! This one will keep you up all night, so don’t start it if you have a costume party to go to!

Feed (Newsflesh, #1)3. Feed by Mira Grant

You can’t have Halloween without zombies! And what with the US elections going on, what better than to read a book about elections AND zombies.

2. This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

If there’s going to be a surprise zombie outbreak on Halloween, this is what you need to read to be prepared. You are all invited to hang out at my local high school, but fair warning: I might use you as bait.

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Actually the scariest book I’ve ever managed to read in recent memory. I had to sleep with the lights on after I read it. Definitely a new Halloween classic.

What about you? What books give you chills and nightmares?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Books to Get You Into the Halloween Spirit

  1. I see a few great recommendations here, we even share a few books :)
    And yes, Harry Potter is great for October reading! :)

    My TTT
    *GIVEAWAY*

  2. Brittany says:

    I couldn’t even finish Anna! I’m so incredibly terrified of ghosts that I had to DNF it lol.
    Agreed on Sookie/Southern Vampires series – The first few books are fun, but as we’re going along it’s getting kind of blah. I actually like the TV show better!
    Also – Harry Potter. Of course :)

  3. Amy says:

    Love this list! Some of these titles are on my list too!
    Check out my list here

  4. Krisha says:

    I’ve read all the Sookie books because I hate to not finish a series. They got a little long winded for sure.
    What made Anna so scary?

    Check out our TTT !
    *New follower

    Krisha @ Inkk

  5. You’d best not use me as bait…
    And ugh, I wanna read Anna Dressed In Blood so bad, but I couldn’t because the print was all this weird dark brownish red color instead of black and it hurt my eyes. :/

    • megtao says:

      It’s everyone for themselves in the zombiepocalypse. Though, to be fair, I’d be long dead before either of us managed to find the other. So I’d probably end up using you as food.

      I honestly didn’t notice. Maybe try reading it as an ebook instead?

  6. Ooh I really liked Feed and Anna Dressed in Blood. A few of the others are on my reading list, and will hopefully get to soon. Awesome list :-)

  7. Michelle says:

    This is Not a Test made my list this week too!! I like zombies but Feed looks too scary for me!! I love how you put HP! It is a good Halloween book :)

    Here’s My TTT

  8. Quinn says:

    Despite the fact that I love ghost stories, I really couldn’t get into Anna Dressed in Blood. The MC really frustrated me, so I put it in the DNF pile. But I have seen it on almost every TTT I have looked at today. What I read was definitely creepy.

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, the MC was a little flat because of his obsession with his work, but I thought Anna was such a fascinating character that she made up for it.

  9. I really need to read Feed and Beautiful Creatures! They’ve been on my list forever.

Leave a Reply

