[discussion] Divergent by Veronica Roth

Haven’t read the book? Check out my review here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions,” for most of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

Basically the Four/Tris relationship was HOT. The little hints that Four was into Tris were like candy to me. When they were going through his fear landscape my heart exploded. THE BOX SCENE! I wouldn’t mind be trapped in a tiny box with Four. Seriously.

Al and Will’s death upset me. Al’s I understood the point of, but I was not happy with what Roth did to his character. I don’t understand how he went from pretending to pass out when forced to fight someone to attempting to kill Tris. Maybe it’s because we were seeing it from Tris’s perspective, maybe I was reading too quickly and missed something key, but it honestly came out of no where for me. Will’s death felt completely unnecessary to me. I guess it could be setting up something for the next book with Christina’s reaction when she figures it out, but it was still GAH! WHY!

And I absolutely love how the society is set up. I recently read Angel‘s review of Divergent, and she made a good point about how it doesn’t really make sense for the whole world to function that way, but I think that Insurgent will address that issue (or at least I hope it will). After all, why else would the Dauntless be guarding the walls? And why else would it lock on the outside?

Besides, I like anything that I can use to define myself. Personally, I think I would end up in Erudite, but I think I hold a lot of the qualities of the old Dauntless (before all the forced fighting), though I’m not sure how good I’d be at jumping out of trains onto random buildings… I’d probably be that girl that went splat right off the bat.

So what do you guys think? And let me know which faction you think you would be in/choose?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [discussion] Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Chris says:

    What a great idea to have a discussion after your review! That’s one of the points of reading, to have a common ground to discuss.

    It’s been awhile since I read this book. I liked it, but I didn’t care for the ending when it went into mad scientist territory. My faction is Erudite, and it’s for good, not evil! I wished the story followed Trish’s brother more. He had a lot going on.

    I agree that how the world is set up should come out in the next books. It seems like only Chicago uses this framework and outside the gates things are different. I wondered what the ratio of people in each faction is. I wouldn’t think anyone who wasn’t born into it would choose Candor or Abnegation. One criticism I heard was that this book is elitist since bus drivers and other blue collar workers are in the untouchable class. I wonder what proportion of the population is in that group and if it’s a lot larger than the people in the other 5.

    I was confused why the training fights were so violent. I can see how only x% can pass training, but it seemed unnecessary to have them kill or cripple each other. I also heard about a big plot hole, but I must have missed it. Interested to hear others’ thoughts!

    • megtao says:

      I never even thought of the elitist aspect of it. That’s a really good point! Though I think the Abnegation does a lot of the “undesirable work” as well. I wish we would have heard more about the sectless group. We didn’t get much interaction with them except for that one creepy guy and we didn’t really get any answers about why he said what he did.

      I also wished that we had gotten to see more about her brother. I feel like he was just placed in Erudite so that Tris would have that confrontation with the Erudite leader. Hopefully he’ll be in the second book more. I think her family altogether was really underused.

  2. Chris says:

    I didn’t think about elitism, either, until I read that post, but I can see her point. It makes sense that Abnegation would be a smaller group since they’re the leaders. I always wonder with dystopian books who pays for it all? This one seems to have that covered with each group having special skills.

    I really liked the part with the Ferris Wheel. Reminded me of Ender’s Game with unconventional warfare. I like it when characters think out of the box. It was funny that this is the second book I’ve read this year where people jump onto moving trains. The other was Ship Breaker.

  3. megtao says:

    Oh yes the Ferris Wheel! And the fact Four went up with her despite being terrified of heights <3_<3 it was the first time I realized that Four was…human, I guess. And it made me absolutely fall in love with him

    I loved that aspect of Ender's Game. The rest of the books in the series kind of sucked in comparison because they were lacking that aspect.

  4. Briana says:

    I just found your discussion posts from the link on your Busting the Newbie Blues post, and this is only book I’ve actually read of the three so….

    I agree that the world-building was not the best, since everyone naturally has more than a single characteristic, but I still thought it was an interesting concept and I just chose to look as the book as more of an action/romance read rather than a dystopian novel. Frankly, I’m not particularly interested in what happens with the major plot and the world being overrun or whatever–I just want to know what happens to the characters.

    The official Facebook quiz put me in Dauntless, but I’m such a coward! One giant spider in the simulation and I’d be Factionless. I would choose Erudite. I actually did consider Abnegation, which seems an unpopular choice, but I ditched the thought after deciding I’d probably become depressed surrounded by gray clothing and gray houses and bland food. I would use my Erudite powers to help others instead!

    • megtao says:

      I’m the same. I really could care less about the plot; I just want more Four.

      Erudites unite! I didn’t know there was a facebook quiz; I’ll have to check it out.

      Welcome to my blog and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

