[review] Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Lena can’t wait until she turns eighteen and is given the cure. Finally, she’ll be safe from love, the disease that affects your mind and body before killing you, but then Lena’s worst nightmare happens–she gets infected.

Time to read: About four days, but not by choice. Every moment away from this book was pure agony. DO NOT READ DURING EXAM TIME.

This book…my God this book. This isn’t one of those books that you wish you could read again for the first time; this is the kind of book that you read over and over again, falling into the descriptions and snuggling up to all the feelings they create.

The writing reads like poetry. Every word, every metaphor, every image is absolute perfection. Oliver doesn’t only bring to life the world she has created, she makes you live it. I ran with Lena. I felt her fear. I felt her joy. And when she contracted deliria, so did I. This is easily the most beautifully written book I’ve read all year and very possibly ever.

The characters are believable, the twists are twisty, and the setting/plot is interesting. If I was going to complain about anything, it would be the ending which left me wanting so much more that there was a hole where my heart had been torn out and tears soaking those beautifully horrible pages.

Novels with similar aspects

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Recommended to EVERYONE. EVERYONE MUST READ THIS BOOK AND APPRECIATE ITS BEAUTY.

Not recommended to those who are looking for something light or uninteresting.

Already read Delirium? Join the discussion here!


About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to [review] Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. “EVERYONE. EVERYONE MUST READ THIS BOOK.” I feel the same way. Even though it breaks your heart and you don’t know what you’ll do if you never find out how it all ends, this book is gorgeous and worth reading. I think “beautifully horrible” describes Delirium so well (because seriously, THAT ENDING. THAT FREAKING ENDING!). Great review! (Dammit, why is Pandemonium so far away?)

  2. megtao says:

    WHY DID YOU LET ME READ IT BEFORE PANDEMONIUM WAS OUT YOU JERKS

  3. Kyle says:

    This was hands down my favorite book of 2011. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but it just blew me away. The writing, the story, the ENDING, everything. I am super pumped for Pandemonium and will be purchasing it the day it comes out (which is big for me since I am normally a library gal). CAN’T WAIT!!!!

    • megtao says:

      I’m normally a library girl as well. I might~ be borrowing an ARC from a friend, but I’m still considering buying both Delirium and Pandemonium because of the pure perfection of Delirium.

  4. Pingback: Review: Delirium | Giraffe Days

Leave a Reply

