[review] Enthralled – Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr

Enthralled is a compilation of short stories of the paranormal genre. Generally they had some kind of love story, but not always. I decided to read this compilations because it included authors I recognized and enjoyed, namely Jackson Pearce (Sisters Red, Sweetly), Ally Condie (Matched), and Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely series). Unfortunately, I was not enthralled by the majority of these stories.

Last year I took a course on Canadian short stories and I was taught that short stories are stories that begin in the middle of the action, have an ending that is not necessarily conclusive, and characters that aren’t nearly as fleshed out as you’d find in a full-length story. Instead, what I got was several stories that used characters and settings from the author’s previous works, which, you know, would be great if I’d read those books.

And it’s not like I’m going to go back and read them now; thanks to these short stories I know how they end! Overall, I found the experience frustrating, but I did greatly enjoy three of the short stories:

Melissa Marr’s “Merely Mortal” because I have read the Wicked Lovely series and it was nice to see more of my favourite couple. Do not read if you have not finished the Wicked Lovely because there are LOTS of spoilers.

Sarah Rees Brennan’s “Let’s get this Undead Show on the Road” because the interaction between the characters was hilarious. The ending was not my favourite, but overall this was the most memorable story of the bunch.

Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ “The Third Kind” although it sounded more like the first chapter of a novel than a short story. It was gripping and if a novel of this story exists it would certainly find its way onto my to-be-read pile.

recommended to those who have read all the stories these short stories relate to and are looking for more chances to see their favourite characters in action.

not recommended to anyone who does not want to be spoiled for those unread books or anyone picky about the format of short stories.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

