Top Ten Tuesday – 10 authors I wish would write another book

Top Ten Tuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

10. Daniel Defoe – anyone who has read Roxana knows that ending was bullocks. Would love to see what Defoe would have written without the influence of his society.

9. Markus Zusak – have you read The Book Thief? Because you need to. Seriously.

8. Margaret Atwood – I’m sure it’s on its way, but my goodness am I anxious for the next part in the MaddAdams series!

7. Suzanne Collins – okay, Mockingjay only came out a year ago. But it was a long year ago.

6. O. R. Melling – she wrote the first faery novels I ever read. Bonus: she’s Canadian!

5. Naoko Takeuchi – more Sailor Moon? More Mamoru/Usagi? YES PLEASE!

4. Diana Wynne Jones – she was a master of fantasy. I am never disappointed when I read one of her novels and there is always something memorable about them.

3. Robert Jordan – I always had a feeling he would pass before he finished his amazing series, The Wheel of Time. I just wish I had been wrong.

2. Jane Austen – I mean, come on. Who wouldn’t want another Jane Austen book?

1. J.K. Rowling – bonus points if it’s set in the Harry Potter world!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – 10 authors I wish would write another book

  1. Hi yes, I am pretty much in love with your blog. BECAUSE YOU HAVE TASTE! VERY GOOD TASTE and I am now typing in all caps like a winner.

    Seriously, I would love for more Sailor Moon and more Markus Zusak and pretty much every single author you mentioned except OR Melling and Defoe, because I haven’t read them yet.

    • megtao says:

      OH MY GOODNESS MY FIRST FAN-LIKE COMMENT I AM IN ALL CAPS TOO BECAUSE :DDDDD I was starting to become afraid that my tastes were vastly different than the regular YA tastes

      I wouldn’t exactly recommend Defoe. I had to read him for a lit class. It’s one of the better books I’ve had to read for a lit class, but not like super amazing, unless you’re into the classics. OR Melling I would definitely recommend though! Check out The Hunter’s Moon which is one of the only books I can remember reading when I was in grade school. Like I can remember every scene because it was that brilliant.

  2. Kyle says:

    Ok…your blog has wizards and accio at the top; mine is called A Reader’s Pensieve. HI WE ARE BEST FRIENDS NOW

    In all seriousness, though, I would love to read more by JKR, Austen, and Collins. Love them all, but really, all I want is more Harry Potter.

  3. commonreader says:

    Markus Zusak is on my list too! I can’t wait until his new book is out.

  4. Great list! Markus Zusak completely slipped my mind when I wrote out my list for this week, The Book Thief was fantastic! I also wished that Jane Austen had written more novels. And yes re: Naoko Takeuchi (thank goodness they’re re-releasing the Sailor Moon manga atm, hehe).

    Here’s my TTT this week if you’re interested in checking it out: http://www.rulethewaves.net/blog/?p=3328

  5. Candice says:

    More Sailor Moon? I’m pretty sure my 15 year old self just fan-girled out for a moment! Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system… great list! i wish all these folks would start pecking away on their computers and bringing us new bits of happiness! Wow, that was a dorky sentence! 🙂

  6. Jeyna Grace says:

    Yes, Rowling should write another book!

  7. I had Zusak on my list and then I took him off – somehow, even just putting him on the list made me feel like I was rushing him! It’s been years but I know it’ll be worth they wait. 😉

    And hear hear for Rowling!

    p.s. I only heard of Sailor Moon recently, on a friend’s review of Cinder – we got a lot of Japanese animation growing up but it didn’t sound familiar to me. Maybe we didn’t get that one after all. So it’s also a book/series?

    • megtao says:

      Is he working on another book then? I really hope so o_o

      Sailor Moon is the most popular shojo anime ever so I’m super surprised to hear you didn’t heard of it as a kid.

      It’s a manga (basically a Japanese comic book). I seriously recommend it! They just started rereleasing the manga in English in bookstores.

      • Do you remember when it was on telly? It may have been just after my time (late 80s, early 90s). I was a big fan of Astro Boy and Transformers and Voltron and a host of others I can barely remember!

      • megtao says:

        It was on television in the early 90s. Probably somewhere between ’94-’96

      • Ah. I either missed that one or it was forgettable. Most likely the former! I know it was played on the ABC, which was the only channel we were allowed to watch as kids (no commercials), but maybe I’d grown out of anime by then? I don’t know why this is puzzling me, except that it surprises me there’s one I’m not familiar with. Oh well!

  8. Jillian ♣ says:

    Yay for Jane Austen! I’ve never read Daniel Defoe… but I will. 🙂

    • megtao says:

      I wouldn’t necessarily recommend Defoe. Not unless you’re an 18thC lit fan, though since you like Austen I assume you like it enough. 🙂 He also wrote Robinson Crusoe and Moll Flanders, though I’ve read neither of them.

Leave a Reply

