[review] White Cat by Holly Black

In a world where people fear the slightest touch of a hand, Curse Workers make their living, altering luck, memories, and even someone’s emotions. Cassel is part of one of the most infamous Curse Worker families. With a mother in jail, a grandfather whose touch is death, and a brother who can break bones with the brush of his pinkie, there is good reason to be terrified of them. But what no one realizes is the Cassel, who has no curse working powers of his own, is just as terrifying: he murdered his best friend, and he can’t remember why.

This is one of the most original books I’ve read in awhile. The idea of Curse Working is fascinating to me in the same way that the world of Harry Potter is. The world is much like ours, but the differences are striking enough to be interesting.

I had a bit of difficulty connecting to the main character, largely because he is a male protagonist. The majority of the secondary characters are interesting, but largely underused and quickly lost in the plot.

The plot itself has some nice twists and turns, but–either because the foreshadowing is too obvious or I’ve just been reading too much lately–overall it was predictable. Right up until the end. Oh my goodness, THE END. It knocked me for a loop and ground my heart into a pulp of longing and tears.

The sequel, Red Glove, is currently sitting in my pile of library books to be read, and I CANNOT WAIT to get to it.

recommended to YA fans who enjoy plot over romance and enjoy the familiar and unfamiliar alike

not recommended to fans of the classic paranormal romance or those running off of a dystopian high

Don’t just take my word for it, check out these other reviews!

“One of the rare YA novels that can and does appeal to both girls and guys…” ~Angel@mermaidvisions

Have you blogged about White Cat by Holly Black (or any of my previous reviews)? Link me to your review and I’ll include a quote from and a link to your post at the end of my review.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

