Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I’d recommend to someone who doesn’t read YA Fiction

Top Ten Tuesday

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to Someone who doesn’t read YA Fiction

10. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling – I know it’s a great series. You know it’s a great series, but if you tell an adult to read about an eleven year old wizard, chances are they’re not going to hear you out. But if you can get them through the first three books…

9. I want to go home by Gordon Korman – This book. Just thinking about it I want to go read it again. If they can get past the fact that the protagonist is young (I can’t remember exactly because it’s been a couple years since I reread it…I’d guess about 12 or 13), they will spend the entire time gasping from breath because they’re laughing so hard.

8. Ophelia by Lisa M. Klein – Shakespeare fans will appreciate the twist on a classic tale.

7. Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce – This book started me in the YA genre, basically. And, once you’ve hooked them with one of Pierce’s books you can throw twenty more at them to keep them hooked.

6. Stolen by Lucy Christopher – Another beautifully written book that will leave the new reader’s heart aching and confused.

5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – History buffs will enjoy this especially, plus Zusak’s prose is beautiful. Whoever says that the YA genre isn’t as artistic as adult novels obviously has been reading the wrong YA novels.

4. Looking for Alaska by John Green – John has a style of writing that older readers will appreciate, even if they may afterwards worry about what their children are reading… a bj scene, John? Really? I can’t show this to my mother now!

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Anyone who knows me knew this is going to be one of my top recs for everyone. I don’t care who you are, you will read this book and you will enjoy it. 

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – This is the first book I used to get my mom to start reading YA fiction, and she loved it. Works especially well on women who enjoy Harlequin romances.

1. Feed by Mira Grant – It has zombies, action, adventure, politics, and characters that are in their late teens. Definitely a good way to break an adult into the YA genre.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I’d recommend to someone who doesn’t read YA Fiction

  1. Nikki says:

    Awesome list! Anna and the French Kiss is just too cute a book for anyone to pass up. I am glad your mother gave it a chance.

    ~Nikki @ Imaginative Adventure.

  2. Candice says:

    I’m pretty sure Anna and the French Kiss should be passed on to anyone who reads period. Such a great book!

  3. I love all of these recommendations! I still need to read Gordon Korman though.
    And, oh I love The Book Thief so very very much, both in print and audio. ALSO, overseas they market The Book Thief as adult and also children’s. So awesome. Like, I love the adult cover that they have in the UK.

    • megtao says:

      Korman is a middle grade author, but “I want to go home” is one of my favourite books ever. Every line is hilarious. I wish I could find my copy because I’m going through serious withdrawals right now.

  4. I love recommending Tamora Pierce novels to readers. I’ve read everything by her, except Tortall and Other Lands, and I absolutely love it all! She’s one of the authors who writes books I can reread constantly without ever getting tired of the story or the characters or the world. I love her!

    • megtao says:

      Tortall and Other Lands wasn’t as amazing as I was hoping it would be, but still worth the read of course. I think I missed a couple of the newer Circle books. I feel like I need to do a Pierce binge reread over the summer.

  5. Okay you’ve ruined my book buying ban!! Ha ha actually you’re the third blogger today who’s made me get a book, so really I should just blame Top Ten Tuesdays, they always do this to me! I absolutely had to get Stolen, love the premise and I haven’t heard much about it so no dominating expectations!

    One of my best blogging friends, Maria, got me onto Tamora Pierce. So far I’ve only read the Trickster duo but I loved them. I’ve got the first Alanna book and the first Beka Cooper book. She’s totally on my list of authors-to-read-everything-they-wrote (if I had such a list!)

    The Book Thief is incomparable! It should be on lists of best books ever written, I feel. I didn’t like Looking for Alaska much though, I couldn’t get into the characters and it was all rather anti-climactic considering the build-up. But I still have An Abundance of Katharines on my shelf so I’m not writing Green off or anything. 😉

    • megtao says:

      Oh god, Stolen… I didn’t know what I was getting into when I read it. I can’t wait until you do!

      I totally have one of those lists! It includes John Green, Maureen Johnson, Marissa Meyer, Tamora Pierce, Scott Westerfeld, E. Lockhart, and JK Rowling. XD

      Looking for Alaska is my favourite of John’s books, but I know a lot of other people prefer Paper Towns, and I’m pretty sure TFIOS blows all of them out of the water.

Leave a Reply

