Busting the Newbie Blues

Busting the Newbie Blues is an event held by Small Review and this year they’re also hosting a Busting the Big Blogger Blues for you established bloggers! Seeing as I am a newbie, I thought it’d be fun to fill out the questions.

1. When did you start your blog?

The end of November (2011), but I didn’t start blogging regularly until the beginning of January.

2. Why did you start your blog?

Angel told me to, basically. Also, I was looking for an excuse to read more and write more and book blogging seemed to fit the bill.

3. What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced so far?

It hasn’t come yet, but I know that it will… I’m a full time university student, and now that the semester is starting to pick up I know I’m not going to have nearly as much time to devote to reading and writing reviews. I really want to blog, but school always has to come first for me, so I’m scared I won’t have enough time to devote to it and I’ll lose any progress I’ve made.

4. What do you find most discouraging about being a new blogger?

I guess just seeing the sheer amount of other bloggers out there and knowing that there’s no way you can compete with all of them. I always hear about “carving out your niche,” but I don’t want a niche. I don’t want to be confined to one topic. I want to be able to review a movie or a television show if I want to. I want to be able to talk about things outside of books sometimes, and I feel like I don’t have the freedom to do that because otherwise I won’t “attract a steady audience” or something. Which is fine. I didn’t become a book blogger to attract a crowd. I became a book blogger to discuss things that I find interesting.

Hm, that became longer than I thought it would. Guess there’s been a bit more discouragement in me than I realized.

5. What do you find most encouraging?

When someone randomly stumbles across my blog and tells me that they like my content. As much as I don’t blog to attract a crowd, it’s nice to know I’m not yelling gibberish into space. At least what I’m yelling is good.

6. What do you like best about the blogs you read? Have you tried to replicate this in your blog?

I like the blogs that are honest, and honestly, I would like to read more blogs, but I have no idea how google reader or RSS feeds work, and most blogs I stumble across don’t seem to have e-mail alerts, which is the only way I know how to follow a blog without having to go to their site every day. So, if someone would like to explain that to me…

7. What do you dislike about blogs you’ve read? Do you try to avoid this?

I only read blogs I like and I haven’t seen anything in them that is worth my dislike. But if any of you guys have tips of what not to do, I’d be happy to hear them!

Oh wait, I lied. I do have something I dislike about blogs. I don’t like it when bloggers “bash” other people. If you have an intelligent argument, great. If you just swear and call people idiots I’m more likely to think you’re the idiot and not bother reading anymore.

8. Any advice for other new bloggers?

HAHA, ME? GIVE ADVICE? I guess, don’t take things too seriously. Don’t obsess over your traffic counts, and don’t think that just because you have one good day of traffic that suddenly every day will be like that. And don’t be in it to get “popular” or whatever book bloggers become.

Or maybe you should do all those things. I really haven’t been doing this long enough to be sure.

9. Any questions you’d like to ask newbie or established bloggers?

I asked a couple through out, including the google reader/RSS feed thing. I’d also like to know what you guys think about the “niche” thing. Do you think it’s possible to talk about multiple things? Or is it necessary to remain focused on one topic?

And what’s the general consensus on reviews vs. meme posts? Is it better to post less if I don’t have time to read books during the semester, or should I make an attempt to make posts about trends in books, memes, etc. even when I can’t finish a book to review it that day.

10. Is there anything you’d like to tell us about your blog? Feel free to link a few of your favorite posts or posts you wish had more comments.

My favourite posts so far are my Unpopular Opinion posts (and they seem to be my most popular posts as well). They’re the ones where I put the most of my soul into. That’s right, my Unpopular Opinion posts are horcruxes.

I also really enjoy discussion posts, though it doesn’t seem I have many who enjoy them with me. I’d love some more comments on those just to get some more discussions going.

That’s really it. I only have, like, 23 posts, so it’s not like I have a whole lot going on yet. But I’m going to keep working at it, so we’ll see.

Oh! Also, I like to link back to other reviews, so if you’ve reviewed any of the same books I have (you can check on my Review Masterlist), then link me and I’ll quote and link you on my review. I think it’s best for people to get as many perspectives on a book as possible.

Okay, that’s it. I promise. Thanks for stopping by!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in meme. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Busting the Newbie Blues

  1. I happen to really like reading your discussion posts! I don’t get enough time to comment these days (though I will comment on them, I promise!). But they’re a great addition to your blog.

    I think, because it’s your blog, you can talk about whatever the heck you want to! It’s always refreshing to see some new and different content – and it’s something I’m working on when it comes to my own blog.

    (Also, I totally laughed out loud when I saw the horcruxes bit. Because, in a way, it’s true and also because I’m a huge Harry Potter fan.)

  2. Candice says:

    I don’t think you should worry about the niche thing, especially being a new blogger. I’ve only been doing mine since November and have found it increasingly difficult to keep up with reading and reviewing – as in reviewing a new book every day. So I find stuff to supplement my blog with, like participating in a couple of memes and doing my own thing. And that’s been enjoyable to me. If you enjoy what you’re writing about, others will enjoy it too. So do your thing! I’ve enjoyed your posts and getting to know your blog; keep up the good work!

  3. megtao says:

    I think that’s great advice. Enjoying what you’re doing should definitely take precedence. Thank you for all of your support!

  4. Great answers! I think you should blog about what ever you want. Whenever you want. Don’t think you need to use meme’s as filler posts. Just post when you can.

    You SO need to use Google Reader!! Google it. There will be many tutorials on how to use it. It is awesome!

    • megtao says:

      I missed one day of posting and my traffic dropped by half. I know I shouldn’t worry about that, but it’s like D:

      I really should get around to doing that… XD *is lazy*

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. Don’t worry about niching. People want to tell you to niche all the time – i.e. read just YA or only write about books. You don’t have to do that. if you like a TV show, write about it. I’ve seen several successful book bloggers talk about TV and movies. Just do whatever you want with your blog ya know?

    ALSO with RSS, you can use google reader to read posts. Basically you open up google and click on more from the menu bar on top and at the bottom is READER. Click that and instructions should be right there.

  6. megtao says:

    Thank you for the advice and help! I sincerely appreciate it <333

  7. Zelma says:

    I just found your blog (through Good Books and Good Wine). I am enjoying ti thoroughly and just wanted to let you know! 🙂 And I love your Alice post; I was pretty fangirly about Syfy’s version as well.

Leave a Reply

