[discussion] Wither by Lauren Destafano

Haven’t read it? Check out my review here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions,” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

This is mostly going to be me ranting about things I didn’t like, namely Gabriel and The Ending.

Let’s start with Gabriel. What about him were we supposed to like? Is it the fact that he was the only one who spoke to Rhine? I didn’t feel like there was any chemistry between Rhine and Gabriel. At least Rhine and Linden had sparks. But Gabriel did absolutely nothing for me. When he was sent off to the basement I was kind of relieved because it meant we would get to focus more on Rhine’s personal journey. Sort of.

And as for the ending WHAT THE FLIPPING FLIP?! They make it to the gate and it’s like “Oh no! We can’t get out because we didn’t think our plan through at all!” AND THEN A RANDOM CHARACTER APPEARS AND IS LIKE “I WILL LET YOU OUT. ” *turns off capslock*

I get that Cecily felt bad. I can even believe that she would order the closest servant to help them. What I do not believe is that said servant would risk himself to help them. Like, this servant IS GOING TO GET CAUGHT. HE KNOWS HE’S GOING TO GET CAUGHT. WHAT PROOF DO WE HAVE THAT HE IS SUDDENLY BRAVE ENOUGH TO DO THIS. *coughs…turns off capslock again*

Deux ex machinas just really anger me.

Ugh.

Okay, tell me what you thought. Am I being over dramatic? Did I miss something that was an obvious hint that this servant would later help them out? And are any of you fans of Linden or is that just me?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [discussion] Wither by Lauren Destafano

  1. I totally don’t think your being over dramatic. I had many of these same feelings when I first read Wither last spring. I thought I was crazy because everyone loved this book so hard.

    I agree with all your points but most of all I agree with you about Gabriel. He just doesn’t do it for me. He’s not in very much of the story, they have very little time alone to actually bond, and well to be honest he feels very flat. Not a lot of personality. I think it would have been better if he was just a servant that felt trapped in this world and wanted to escape. That I could understand. But tat he’s head over heels in love with Rhine? Not so much. I just don’t understand why there always have to be a love story. Can’t a guy and a girl work together without being in love?!

    I felt way more of a connection to Linden. Yes, Rhine was forced to marry him but he didn’t knowingly force her. He’s so innocent and sweet, you can’t help but feel for the guy. And I could honestly believe tat he cares deeply for Rhine. I hope Lauren develops their relationship more in future novels. I think there’s actually something to them, whereas I could definitely do without Gabriel.

    I can’t wait for you to read Fever, Meg, so we can continue this discussion and talk about the direction she took the story in!

    • megtao says:

      Can’t a guy and a girl work together without being in love?! No, that is obviously impossible. Also, a boy and girl can’t be friends. Because…reasons. Except MAYBE if one of them is gay. Then they could maybe be friends.

      I actually really like Linden and I felt so bad for liking him so I’m glad you like him too 😄

      I can’t wait to read it too! kkkjfkldakj;dfka;k I need more time to read!

  2. ok so. Wither. I didn’t care so much about the relationship part, what made me want to punch my face through the wall was the “science fiction”, or complete lack of actual science. I don’t think a lot of authors (or readers apparently) understand this, but in order to have a successful dystopian or post apocolyptic story, you can’t just throw some cataclysmic event without understanding how society would react and evolve to live around said event. For example, the ice caps melted a long time ago. WTH. If the ice caps were melted, New York and Florida would be under water. The entire eco system would be ruined. Also apparently North America is the only continent that still exists, and it’s basically intact. Nope, sorry don’t buy that one. America isn’t the only country that has technology, weapons and the means to survive.

    There was a severe lack of science for sure. Viruses don’t just kill genders at a specific age. They don’t. The generation of the virus is also illogical. The idea that people would fore-go having children naturally is laughable. There will always be people out there that will resist unnatural remedies and untested medical procedures. The polygamy set up was also unbelievable. You’d think they’d horde the girls in a brothel type setting, not kill of the 20 or so that aren’t chosen to be brides. And don’t you think the women would become the leaders, since their baby making capabilities are in such high demand? ALSO, if the first generation are all lab made and totally healthy, why don’t they just keep lab making children? Did every single lab and every single computer just blow up? What happened to that technology?

    I think that wither was a pretty good book on polygamy but a terrible science fiction. I’m sorry I ranted here, but I’m an electrical engineer and I care about science. lol ok I’m gonna go now, again sorry about this horribly long ranty rant!

    • megtao says:

      Whenever I read about there only be one country/government intact, I immediately assume the people are being lied to and that other places do exist 😄 This is probably not the case, but I guess I’ll have to wait until I read Fever to find out.

      Yeah, the killing of women thing seemed stupid to me too. I mean, in Handmaiden’s tale there was a kind of polygamy thing, but that was because most women couldn’t have kids.

      For the lab thing, I think they took normal children and then made them immune, so they can’t do that to the new children because they’re being born wrong. You’d think that they would have realized this problem before all of the people prior to the first generation died out though and just had the first generation have normal children…

      I don’t really know any science stuff, so I didn’t notice any of those issues until you pointed them out. This is why I love getting different perspectives so much! Thank you for your comment, and never apologize for ranting!

  3. Angel says:

    I liked Wither, but I only read it once. 😄 Fever was definitely better, though it’s got less Linden. And yes, Gabriel doesn’t really do it for me either.

    • megtao says:

      I’m not sure if I’m looking forward to Fever or not now… Honestly, if it’s just a Gabriel/Rhine story I’m going to be bored.

    • I love how to the point Angel’s comment is. 🙂
      It is true that fever is better (but with less Linden *pouts*)

      I was talking to my co-worker the other day about Wither/Fever and we were saying you could pretty much delete the scenes/lines with Gabriel and the story would be exactly the same. That’s how you know your character isn’t helping the story at all.

      • megtao says:

        It’s true! What did Gabriel do except be a love interest and he sucked as a love interest. What are the chances he’ll die and she’ll end up with Linden because I wouldn’t mind that in the least.

Leave a Reply

