[review] Peeps by Scott Westerfeld

Most guys hope to never run into their exes. Cal hunts his down. Infected with the parasite that spawned the vampire legends, Cal must hunt down those he unwittingly infected and fight his growing libido so that he doesn’t infect anyone else. Easier said than done when you’re a teenage boy infected with a horny parasite!

There are a lot of good things about this book. I love the twist on the vampire legend. I really enjoyed all of the science chapters, even if they were disgusting and I am now terrified of everything. Cal’s voice was hilarious, and there were some incredibly hot moments.

The world-building wasn’t anything great (it was set in present day New York), which, if you’ve read my review of Goliath you know is one of my favourite aspects of Westerfeld’s books, but the history of the disease was pretty cool. I felt like there were a lot of plot threads kind of dangling around uselessly, but the writing style was solid and entertaining.

One thing I can not get over is the fact that Lace, the love interest, says “dude” every other word. I love Lace. She’s kind of awesome. She’s in training to be a reporter. She doesn’t take Cal’s crap. But seriously, Lace, just use his name or something.

Books with similar aspects

Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment by James Patterson

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Zombie Blondes by Brian James

recommended to science fans and vampire fans of the non-Twilight variety

not recommended to those looking for their run of the mill vampire novel

Already read and reviewed Peeps (or any of the books I’ve reviewed)? Comment with the link and I’ll quote and link you at the bottom of my review!

No discussion post planned for this one. If you have some spoiler-filled comments and would like a discussion post, let me know and I’ll make a post just for you. 🙂

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [review] Peeps by Scott Westerfeld

  1. Samantha says:

    This book was all kinds of awesome. I didn’t realise it had a sequel until you read it, so now I’m going to have to track it down. 🙂

  2. I have Peeps to read. As a person who uses dude every other word — I do need to stop — I don’t think I would mind that bit. Also, I bizarrely love reading about diseases. I know that is incredibly weird, but I do!

  3. toni d. says:

    Haha, wow, I must admit the description put me off, but it sounds like a quirky book, and I do love quirky books. Thanks for sharing this one!

  4. Lauren H. says:

    I bought this after I finished Westerfeld’s Uglies series (because Uglies is freaking awesome). But it’s been sitting in my to-read pile… Your review made me want to pick it up 🙂 Though I’m a little sad that you say Westerfeld’s world building isn’t as strong in this book because it’s definitely a strength in Leviathan and Uglies. But Peeps was his first book, right? So maybe he got better?
    Lauren @ Hughes Reviews

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, there’s the hint of, like, society building, but you can definitely tell that this is an earlier book of his. He’s definitely improved over time.

  5. CLG says:

    I wanted to read it, but I was kinds iffy about it.
    Can you answer some questions please?
    I’ve read uglies- loved it.
    okay the qs: Is there a lotta nice romance in it? Is it intense and action-y?

    • megtao says:

      Personally, I didn’t find it to be very romantic, intense, or action-filled. It’s not a book I would personally recommend, but if you’re a Westerfeld fan and want to go through all his books I’d say go for it.

Leave a Reply

