Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books You’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read

Top Ten Books You’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

If an absolute stranger told me they don’t like to read, and I wanted to get them interested in reading, this is the list I’d provide them.

10. Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone by J. K. Rowling

The reason this one is so high up is because the chances are a non-reader is already going to have preconceived notions about the Harry Potter series i.e. “isn’t that a kid’s book” so I think it’d be easier to get them to read it AFTER they trust your judgement.

9. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Great series, but it takes a bit long to draw the reader in. A non-reader might not have the patience to get to the excitement which is more to be found in Pretties and Specials.

8. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

This book draws you in pretty quickly, but the narrative and language can be a teensy bit complicated (I mean, it is Atwood).

7. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

This book is excellent because it is so well-written, but like Uglies there’s not as much in immediate excitement as you’ll find in some of books listed below.

6. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I might not agree with some of Clare’s character choices, but she knows how to write an engrossing novel. The high page count might startle non-readers away, however.

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Quirky and fun, this book’s narrative is easy on new readers. Again, the length might be a deterrent, but as soon as the reader meets Étienne you’ll have them hooked for life.

4. I’d Tell you I love you but then I’d have to kill you by Ally Carter

Quick, light, and fun read. This series is sure to hook a new reader and have them devouring the whole series.

3. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

This book grabs you right away and won’t let you go. It’s very much like the Hunger Games; however, the third book was a bit of a disappointment which is why it is slightly lower on the list than it could have been.

2. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

I am reading this book now and I can’t explain how it attaches itself to your brain like a parasite that injects itself into your thoughts always. However, a new reader might not appreciate being made to FEEL SO MANY THINGS at once. It’s scary sometimes.

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I went into The Hunger Games with no expectations and I devoured it in one sitting. That is not normal reading behaviour. I imagine it would have the same effect on a non-reader.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books You’d Hand To Someone Who Says They Don’t Like To Read

  1. Candice says:

    Great list! I think books like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games are especially good to give people who don’t read because there are movies out there. Chances are, they’ll have seen the movie and know what happens, so it’s a little easier to convince them to read the book. I think getting someone to read who doesn’t like to read is kind of like a puzzle… you almost have to trick them by appealing to things they enjoy!

  2. The Hunger Games is definitely a book that captures your attention from the very start! A lot of my friends who don’t read have started getting into reading because of this series.

    • megtao says:

      I’ve read a lot of books, but that was the first book that I couldn’t put down purely because I had to know what happens next. Ignoring Deathly Hallows, but that was more of a personal thing.

  3. trish says:

    I’ve always wondered about Oryx and Crake. It does sound very Atwood! Hunger Games is a great starter book, though, isn’t it?!

  4. Atwood! She’s so wonderful. Her book and Cinder would be great for young thinkers who are interested in gender and politics.

  5. Lauren H. says:

    I’ve read over half your list! You have good taste in books 😉
    I really need to read Maze Runner and Anna and the French Kiss. Too many books, too little time!!!
    Lauren @ Hughes Reviews

    • megtao says:

      Anna and the French Kiss is a must. The Maze Runner can be put off just because The Death Cure was slightly disappointing, but it’s still a fun read if you’re ever in a reading slump.

  6. toni d. says:

    Great list! I totally devoured The Hunger Games too. 🙂 I can’t wait for the movie to come out!

  7. YES TO THE HUNGER GAMES. My boyfriend is a reader — but mostly non-fiction and legal thrillers and he devoured the Hunger Games, even reading it when I wasn’t looking (usually if I make him read a book, he only does it when I’m watching). SO awesome.

    And I completely agree about Harry Potter. And sigh, I feel like a loser because the only Atwood I’ve read is The Handmaid’s Tale.

    • megtao says:

      I think it’s cute that you can get him to read. Teach me your ways. I’ve been trying to get my bf to read my books for ages.

      Oryx and Crake is my favourite Atwood book. I mean, all I’ve read is The Handmaid’s Tale, Oryx and Crake, and The Year of the Flood…but Oryx and Crake is freaking awesome.

  8. rwlyee says:

    Still consider myself a non-reader, so I will definitely try one/some of these books! 😀

Leave a Reply

