[review] Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Already read it? Check out my discussion post over here.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife, so when the wealthy Mr. Bingley moves to Netherfeld Mrs. Bennet is ecstatic for she is certain he will marry one of her girls: Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine, or Lydia. And so one of the greatest love stories ever told begins. Whether you are reading it for the first time or the fiftieth, Pride and Prejudice is sure to capture your interest and your heart.

When people ask me what my favourite book is Pride and Prejudice is the book that immediately comes to mind. I’ve read it several times, and every time I do I find myself loving it more and more. For the language. For the characters. For the story. It is a classic that still holds relevance in today’s society. I think many of us could be a little more like Elizabeth Bennet.

Anyone who has studied Austen has likely heard about her famous irony. It begins from the very first sentence and never stops as Austen mocks her society and the rules that frame it. She shows the pompousness of the landed rich with Lady DeBourgh and the faults in the game of courtship. She shows the unfairness with which women of the time are faced  and that they are equal to combating it.

It is the characters, however, that keep me returning to these familiar pages. Elizabeth Bennet. Fitzwilliam Darcy. Jane Bennet. Charles Bingley. Lydia Bennet. George Wickham. Mr. Bennet. Mrs. Bennet. Honestly, I could go on forever. These characters have all made it up onto my mental shelf where I put all my favourite characters. I could probably spend hours talking about how adorable Bingley is or how good Jane is or how ridiculously hilarious Mr. Bennet is or how hot Darcy is, but I shall refrain.

This is a must read and a must reread.

Novels with similar aspects

Evelina by Frances Burney

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

recommended to classic fans and those searching for a classic that isn’t too preachy or old-fashioned

not recommended to those who can’t remember names of characters because you will be lost.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“There’s a reason this book is a classic” – Becky @ Blogs of a Book-a-holic

Already read and reviewed Pride and Prejudice (or any of the books I’ve reviewed)? Comment with the link and I’ll quote and link you at the bottom of my review!
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to [review] Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. Samantha says:

    So much love for this book. So. Much. Love.

    Can’t wait for the fangirling post! lol. 😀

    • megtao says:

      I might as well call it what it is: a Darcy appreciation post XD

      • Samantha says:

        Of course, it will be a Darcy appreciation post. XD But there are so many other characters to fangirl as well. Like Colonel Fitzwilliam (he totally should have hooked up with Charlotte. Or Kitty. :P)

        Is it obvious I spend far too much time thinking about these characters? 😉

    • megtao says:

      I bet he totally ended up with Kitty. She was spending a lot of time with the Darcys after all.

  2. I absolutely love this novel. I only read it in 2010, but it’s stuck with me since then. I feel like I’m due for a reread now… And I can’t wait for your Darcy appreciation post 😉

  3. I read this for the 1st time about a year ago and loved it. Can’t believe it took me so long to read it in the first place!

  4. sanalith says:

    Such an absolutely amazing book, and one of the best romances of all time! Lizzie and Darcy are my literary OTP! <33

  5. beckyday6 says:

    This is an excellent post! You’ve summed it up so much better than I did on my review 🙂
    I notice you didn’t recommend Wuthering Heights as a possible book. Have you read it? It’s one of my favorite books of all time. I did really like Pride & Prejudice but somehow I felt Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte had more of a spark.

    Here’s my review: http://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2011/12/10/pride-prejudice-by-jane-austen-review-45/

Leave a Reply

