[review] Alice (2009)

Alice in Wonderland and me have a shaky history. As a child I watched a small part of Disney’s Alice in Wonderland and ended up having a series of nightmares about being trapped in various places. (Yes, my nightmares have themes. Once I had a whole series of nightmares about space travel.) When I was older, I decided to push through my irrational fear of Alice in Wonderland by reading the book.

I hated the book like I haven’t hated a book since 1984 and Wuthering Heights.

However, there is a redeeming Alice in Wonderland tale and that is SyFy’s 2009 mini-series Alice.

Black-belt and karate instructor Alice lives at home with her mother. It’s been just the two of them ever since her father disappeared, and no matter how Alice searches she cannot find any sign of him. When Jack Chance, her hunky boyfriend, is kidnapped, Alice chases his kidnappers all the way into a different world.

Wonderland is full of crumbling sky scrapers and tiny vials of feelings. With Hatter’s help Alice must save Jack and find her way back home to her charming world of children’s stories.

I don’t know how to explain my love of Alice, but it has a lot to do with this guy here:

Meet Hatter as portrayed by the incomparable Andrew Lee Potts. There are several sides to Hatter. There is insane Hatter. There is charming Hatter. There is tough Hatter. There is sweet Hatter. There is brave Hatter. There is vulnerable Hatter. And there is naked Hatter. I could go on forever. If you are not in love with Hatter by the end of this mini-series then we can no longer be friends.

All of the characters are excellent to be honest. Duchess. The Queen of Hearts. Alice herself. They all have motivations and personalities and the girls are actual people. Alice is a freaking black belt! But she’s still very much a girl. She shows that you don’t have to be one or the other: tough or girly, strong or emotional. You can be it all.

Watch this. Love it. Bask in all of Hatter’s facial expressions.

 

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review, tv show review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to [review] Alice (2009)

  1. sanalith says:

    You know, I keep trying to remind myself to watch this, because I absolutely adore Alice in Wonderland and I’ve seen a million different adaptations of it, and somehow I keep missing this one! But I remember your love affair with Hatter! <33 Maybe this is the kick in the pants I need to get it. *trots off to Netflix*

  2. Brandy says:

    Is that the same girl from the TV show Private Practice??

  3. Angel says:

    MEEEEEEEEEEEEG I DON’T HAVE TIME TO REWATCH THIS

    WHY ARE YOU MAKING ME REWATCH THIS

    also, I ❤ you

    • megtao says:

      BECAUSE IT’S SO GOOOOOOOD WHEN YOU COME UP IN MARCH WE NEED TO WATCH IT

      WE’LL JUST FAST FORWARD TO ALL THE HATTER SCENES OKAY?

      ALSO I ❤ YOU TOO (MOST ARDENTLY)

  4. I’m going to have to hunt down this series! It sounds right up my alley! (For the record? I also have series dreams! I’m glad I’m not alone on that front!)

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

    • megtao says:

      It’s a mini-series, so it’s only like…two episodes. The DVD makes it into a movie, basically. I want to say it’s around three hours long all together. May be lying about that. I hope you’ll let me know when you watch it because I LOVE hearing about other people watching/reading my favourite things.

      I’m so glad I’m not alone in this!

  5. Jasmine says:

    Yes.
    Yes, yes, yes!
    I seriously loved this. I’ve always been kind of attracted to anything Alice in Wonderland related though I’ve never even read the original stories. This is by far one of the very best remakes/spin-ffs I’ve seen. Also, you should try The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor. I loved that series.

  6. Samantha says:

    HATTER HATTER HATTER HATTER HATTER!!!!!!!!!!!

    Do I really need to say anything else to that? (I kind of wish we were on LJ right now to start one of our Hatter icon wars, lol. ;))

  7. Hmm…this sounds much more interesting than the loads of rhetorical theory reading I need to do. If only Netflix had it…Maybe I’ll see if the video place has it the next time I’m up for a movie night!

Leave a Reply

