Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books That Broke Your Heart A Little

Top Ten Books That Broke Your Heart A Little

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

I can’t tell you why, but this book didn’t break my heart a little. It broke my heart a LOT. And it did it in such an usual way because that is how Tamora Pierce rolls.

9. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

Every time I read this book I cry. The strength of these characters KILLS ME.

8. My Anastasia by Sharon Stewart

This was one of my favourite books as a child, and I think we all have an idea of how it ends. That combined with the friendship factor breaks my heart.

7. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

I haven’t read this book in FOREVER. But I remember the ending completely destroying me. It was the first time I was thrown completely off guard by a book, and man did it hurt.

6. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I listened to the audiobook of this (review forthcoming), and I SOBBED. I had to turn the book off at one point and could not continue playing it for a couple days because it DESTROYED me.

5. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Two deaths in this book killed me: one when it first happened and the second the more I think about it. Obviously, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire also had their heart-breaking moments, but Mockingjay’s deaths have stayed with me the longest.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

If I have to explain this to you then you obviously have not read this book and you need to stop reading this post and go read it right now.

3. Stolen by Lucy Christopher

This book confused my heart and then it tore it into tiny pieces.

2. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

A little is an understatement. I sobbed through the last 60 pages of this book. THE LAST 60 PAGES. I’ll tell you more when my review goes up Friday.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

I’m going to throw a couple names at you: Hedwig, Dobby, Fred, Snape, Colin Creevy, Remus Lupin, Tonks… yeah, this book definitely broke my heart. Add in that it was the last book of the most influential series of my life… This is my number one. Always.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books That Broke Your Heart A Little

  1. Candice says:

    I think Mockingjay and Deathly Hallows are going to be on everyone’s list today – I know they’re certainly on mine! I’m a little nervous about The Book Thief now. I’m listening to it on tape… Maybe I’m a little crazy, but I seem to have really liked books that make me cry. Usually this is the opposite but lately I’ve felt like reading these heartbreaking books that I know will leave me in tears. So, I may have to try several on your list!

  2. Yara says:

    Mockingjay killed quite a few ppl when we read it.

    Yara @ Once Upon a Twilight.com

  3. I’ve seen The Knife of Letting Go on several of the lists so far… I’ll have to check it out!

  4. I loved Two Princesses of Bamarre! What a beautiful story!

  5. I will completely agree with you on The Knife of Never Letting Go(I will be finishing the series in March), TFiOS(snob fest), Mockingjay, The Book Thief, and Deathly Hallows. I read Stolen…I couldn’t connect with the characters so I wasn’t really brokenhearted at the end.

  6. Miss Anderson says:

    Okay, another post reminding me that I need to get ON my TBR pile. TFioS, The Book Thief, Stolen, and the Knife of Never Letting Go are all in it! Knife of Never Letting Go was just in the possible TBR list, but now it’s fully on there.

  7. Great list!! 🙂 Totally agree about Mockingjay!!

  8. Jasmine says:

    Mockingjay for sure. And Deathly Hallows. You’re making me want to bawl all over again. All the deaths got to me, but man, did she have to go and off the owl?!? What did Hedwig ever do to deserve that?

  9. reutreads says:

    I need to read The Book Thief ASAP. And BAMARRE!!!! THAT IS MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER. (But like, not really.)

  10. CLG says:

    I have stolen on my list too. Ugh, it was such a good sad good UGH book.

    • megtao says:

      For the longest time I was like “oh well, this isn’t nearly as sad as I thought it would be…I mean yeah, it’s sad, but I’ve read Night so this is kind of tame” AND THEN THE END HAPPENED AND EVERYTHING HURT

  11. OH MY GOD The Two Princesses of Bamarre! Not NEARLY enough people have read that book. When I first read it in grade school, I remember crying uncontrollably at the end. I would love to read it again…it was such a good book!

    And Mockingjay and Deathly Hallows…**sad face**

  12. My heart breaks all over again every single time I read Deathly Hallows. It’s my favorite one to reread though, so I must like the pain! But seriously, I just felt my heart breaking with all the crazy things that happened and the characters… 😦

  13. So much to agree with on this list. Beginning with Mastiff… *sob*

Leave a Reply

